+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help from a pro

Post Likes

need help from a pro

Hey guys, what's up. I hope everyone is doing well. Ive been working as a hvac tech for the past year at a mushroom farm. I got my associates degree in science and completed my hvac-r training at a local tech school... I'm doing well at my job and can figure out most problems but sometimes I wish I had a mentor I could rely on when I'm absolutely confused. Thank you........ Right now I got a couple compressors going off on thermal overload...we cycle are fans to come on at 300 psig and my low side is currently around 40. I'm thinking I got a restricted tev. Any suggestions?

Post Likes
    Whats a couple compressors? Is this 2 systems or one 2stage system?

Post Likes
    One 2 stage system

Post Likes
    Compressors cycling on overload is not good. Model # & amperage are needed, along with refrigerant, pressures & temperatures. Along with other things.

Post Likes
    I agree.

Post Likes
    R22. Fan cycles on 300 psig. Superheat is 14. Low side psig is 40... Room is 55 degrees. I weighed in the correct charge according to the nameplate. Condenser coils are clean. Fans working. Filter drier not restricted.

Post Likes
    Thermal Overload or The compressors are getting too hot is bad.
    Why do you cycle the fans at 300#? Im guessing the ref. is R-22?
    300psig fan cycle is high in my opinion.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by drpsr99 View Post
    Thermal Overload or The compressors are getting too hot is bad.
    Why do you cycle the fans at 300#? Im guessing the ref. is R-22?
    300psig fan cycle is high in my opinion.
    I felt this was high also but it's a standard my "coworkers" go by... They where here before me and that's where they put it.

Post Likes
    The space your cooling is 55F??

Post Likes
    The space your cooling is 55F??
    Yes. The room is 55 and the thermostat is set for 52

Post Likes