Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    Do you have to replace the lineset?

    If replacing a 17yr old AC with a new one, 14SEER with R22, is it okay to keep the old lineset?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    Yes, as long as it is sized properly and there are no known leaks, which should be checked for prior to start-up.

    Good Luck

  3. #3
    The installer I was leaning toward suggested keeping the old lineset. It just seemed odd to replace everything else but not that. But, I guess it makes sense that copper does not wear out. As for size, I recall he mentioned it was the correct diameter, but was not if I went with a R410 A/C. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,904
    I would change it the lineset if I could.Former installer,you never go wrong with a new lineset.That just my 2.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South West Ohio
    Posts
    407
    We like to change it when we can. If your staying with R22 and you dont have leaks in the system you should be able to get away without changing it. Why would you high SEER without going with R410A?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by voleye View Post
    We like to change it when we can. If your staying with R22 and you dont have leaks in the system you should be able to get away without changing it. Why would you high SEER without going with R410A?
    Thanks. Why?...It's much less expensive for the R22 unit and I'm one that believes R22 will still be readily and reasonably available for at least the life of this new unit. It's my understanding there is little to no difference between R22 and 410A when it comes to efficiency.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tn.
    Posts
    1,344
    Quote Originally Posted by Cinciwinters View Post
    If replacing a 17yr old AC with a new one, 14SEER with R22, is it okay to keep the old lineset?
    the acidity level in the lines should be addressed. On some bad compressor burnouts(failures). they can be too high. Dont ruin new equupment by skipping this step.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    853
    Quote Originally Posted by Cinciwinters View Post
    If replacing a 17yr old AC with a new one, 14SEER with R22, is it okay to keep the old lineset?
    Re-use should be avoided if at all possible. A lineset is not that expensive relative to the other components. Why take shortcuts with a new installation.

    The only reason to re-use a lineset is if replacement would result in a major construction issue. And if a lineset is re-used it better be flushed out and the flushing chemicals cost nearly as much as a new lineset. (ex: Nu Calgon RX-11)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    29
    I agree with davefr. I think there could be some warranty issues.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South
    Posts
    89
    If you are now moving to R410a I suggest you to replace the lineset for a new one, R22 uses mineral oil and you don't want to have any trace of it on your new system as it affects heat transfer, the price of a new lineset is not considerable to avoid it.

    Remember a good installation will reduce the chances of premature failures, most guys is this forum will agree that a good installation is more important than a good manufacturer.
    What's another word for Thesaurus?
    - Steven Wright

  11. #11
    Thanks you all. I'm convinced. New lineset it is.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Amory Mississippi
    Posts
    1,002
    I just work on the things for a living but I beg to differ with whoever told you 410a is no more efficient than r-22.

    And if I were installing a new system I would always install a new line set. The cost is minimal compared to the rest of the system. copper doesn't "Wear out" but I have seen copper where the lines were in acid soil and there were lovely little pits in the copper and all the gas in the system was gone.....

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Connecticut
    Posts
    842
    If the lineset is accessable replace it. Sometimes there is no way to replace them with out major reconstruction.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event