Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Question Summit BMTX Setup

    I am trying to access a Summit BCU BMTX thru mini monitor port with hyperterminal. I think I have the correct cord and settings but nothing happens. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    721
    Do you have the right cable?
    Beware of the prophet trying to make a profit.

    There is less oxygen from knee level to the floor! Check it out next time you tie your boots.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    I am using the 9 pin to rj 12 used for varitrac

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    I think your baud rate should be 38400. Why do you need mini-moniter?

    -JB

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Practically Canadian ehh.
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by chris907 View Post
    I am using the 9 pin to rj 12 used for varitrac

    Cable is correct one.
    Check you baudrate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    I am setting up a bacnet connection.
    I can try different baud rates.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    721
    Quote Originally Posted by chris907 View Post
    I am setting up a bacnet connection.
    I can try different baud rates.
    If you are setting up the BCU for IP communications use "IP Validation".
    Beware of the prophet trying to make a profit.

    There is less oxygen from knee level to the floor! Check it out next time you tie your boots.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    I was using IP but I wan't to change to RS232 Bacnet. It used to work for IP but now does not for serial. I assume there is a setting that needs to be changed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    It sounds like you want a "hardwired" connection(that's what it's called in Summit). You wouldn't do that thru hyperterminal. Configure your serial port for 38400 open summit and choose hardwired.

    -JB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hoboken, New Jersey
    Posts
    18

    Have you attempted to connect through Ethernet

    Was any of your 5 connection boxes grayed out in your attempt to connect? Also did you check that your comm is off. If you find the file pcarmdrvexe in windows explorer under your tracer summit folder from program files you will see this when you select Bin. If you click it you will get a little DOS screen for about a second. After that you will get your ethernet connections. You should also have the BACNET/IP, Hardwired and Modem options.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event