Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

If it was your home and money...

HI, I had to register after reading all the threads on Goodman products...
    I was informed on Wednesday that my current 21 year old furnace has a crack in the HX. No detectable levels of CO in the house, but I want to replace the whole, aging, system. I was given a very lucrative bid on a complete Goodman system and 1 from a Trane contractor. Given the Trane is significantly higher for a comparable system, I'm leaning towards the Goodman given the fact that for the difference in cost, I can damn near buy a second Goodman if the first one fails !!! My concern is really with the reliability of the Goodman. I am an over the road driver in the winter and my wife and son are here by themselves during the week. I DON'T want to be worrying about the furnace quiting when I'm gone. The cost is and isn't an issue. No we don't want to throw money out the window, but I would rather spend a little more for piece of mind and long term reliability.
    The 2 units we are comparing so far are: Goodman model GMV95 and TraneTUH2B080A9V3. Both are 95% efficient with 2 stage burners and the ecm, variable speed blower. Very comparable units. Like I said, the price difference is stagering !! Of these two, like the thread title says, which would you chose or is there another comparable unit in the price range of a Goodman that I should be looking at ?? Sorry, but I'm not interested in the Bryant family of laminated secondary HX's. My belief is if they are pressed together, they can come apart.
    I am confidant the independant contractor recommending the Goodman is competent and will stand behind his install and any necessary repairs, I would just rather not worry/deal with repair/warranty issues right from the "git" as twilli would say....
    Please, no bashing.....I've read enough of that. I'm just looking for honest opinions and remember, this is going in "your" home for long term service.

THANKS....