Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: HW heater feeding existing tankless coil

Post Likes

HW heater feeding existing tankless coil

Good evening,

I'm a degreed mechanical engineer and have an 1800 ft. sq. colonial built in 1921 with typical 2x4 construction. It currently has an American Standard Arcoliner oil fired boiler firing at .85 with an efficiency of 67%. The location is Long Island, NY with the coldest day of a typical year approaching 0F.

I have modified the supply system extensively and it currently has two supply and two return loops.............each to opposite sides of the dwelling. The loops are all 1" copper. From the loops are 3/4" feeds to each of the nine cast iron radiators............each equipped with a Honeywell zone valve.

The system is controlled by two Taco zone control units. One of them has an input directly from the tankless coil and monitors its temperature.............closing the zone valves if the boiler drops below 150F. at the coil. The coil is massive..........12 gallon rating and it provides hot water at 130F even with 150F boiler water.

150F. boiler water is just barely sufficient to maintain heat in the dwelling to 70F. on a 0F. day. It is not sufficient to climb if the thermostats are lowered overnight.

The nine radiators provide 572 square feet of EDR.

I'm a bit fond of the American Standard as I can easily maintain and clean it myself. Of course, the expense of oil is getting a bit onerous. The dwelling does have natural gas available (currently utilized only for cooking).

My original thought was to simply replace it with a gas boiler and separate hot water heater (basic unit without electricity required).

HOWEVER, after mulling it over a bit...........why can't I do the following:

Install a new higher capacity hot water heater such as the AO Smith GPVX-75L. With 72K BTU it could easily heat the dwelling.