Air Handler - Attic Vs. Utility Closet

Hello Everyone, I a new user to this site but I have been reading the forums for some time now. I am fairly new to the industry and am trying to learn as much and as fast as I can so I can help my dad out who owns his own AC company.

I am presented with a chanlange. My fatherinlaw is expanding his house from 1400 sq ft to 2800 sq ft.. Based on the heatload and the squarefootage he is going to need a second unit. He wants to take the exsiting air handler and move it from the utility closet into the attic along with the new system that is going to be installed. He wants to do this to open up more sq. ft. We live on the Gulf Coast and I am hearing that putting an air handler in the attic presents the following problems:

1. Creates mildew at a rapid rate
    2. Enables the option to install high efficiency equipment
    3. The unit turns into a rust bucket within years
    4. Creates alot of condenstion in the system

Basically, I hear it is not a good idea and should be avoided if at all possible. If anyone has any feedback I would be more than happy to hear it.

Thanks

air handlers and duct work in the attic is a really poor choice.

It means 30% bigger system needed for A/C and 30% higher cooling bills.

buy a copy of HVAC calc and run the numbers.

Is is possible your father-in-law would consider a sealed "conditioned" attic? That would quarantine the ductwork and air handler from the outside air. A lot of modern thinking says that has advantages when everything is considered. I live in S.Texas but about 90 minutes from the coast, am a homeowner so just asking questions not telling you what to do.

Duct leakage would become a very minor concern, from very major in an unconditioned attic. Heat gain thru ducts will go way down. Leakage between ceiling and attic becomes a non-issue. Sprayed in foam strengthens the roof allowing better protection from hurricane winds.

Best of luck -- Pstu