Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 39 of 39

Thread: Goodman sold!!

  1. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    309

    Where does TEMPSTAR stand???

    My 1991 Tempstar HVAC systems still work fine 16 years later (HVAC Co changed the HSI in 2001).

    I am looking at new systems next year.

    What is the current status of Tempstar?

    I know brand bashing is not a fair thing to do but here is the Q for the pro: if this is your own home, what is your "brand" preference from "good" to "not so good", money aside, just stricyl quality of the product, and availability of service parts?

    1. (Best)
    2.
    3.
    4.
    5.

  2. #28
    In the last few years goodman has made a quality product and I've sold many of them. If noise level was a concern I did sell a different brand. Recently I sell about 20 Percent Goodman mostly to customers who are only looking for a low price and I'm glad I did quit selling as much because about 70 percent of the coils we've put in over the last two years are now leaking. I always said brands were not the key, it was the installation but now I'm biting my tounge. And getting alot of unhappy customers.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Metro St. Louis
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Downeasthvac View Post
    We install mostly amana products. I think that the condensers are as good as any brands, the prices are great, the warranties are the best in the business, but the air handlers are cheaply made and I hate having to install the external txv kits which I think are sloppy looking. I guess you can't have it all.
    DownEast - do you do much with Amana heat pumps? I posted in another thread that I've noticed that the lineset vibrates on my new ASZ16048 in heat mode - but no vibration at all in cool mode.

    The vibration does not start immediately - it builds up over the first minute or two. I kicked the system up to high stage, and it decreased again, only to come back.

    One of the thoughts was that it could be due to low airflow (and therefore the TXV modulating?). I should know more as it gets colder and the blower ramps up to full speed. I was surprised to see that the compressor is always in high speed during heat calls - just the fan speed changes.

    I do plan on asking the contractor about it when they come to hook up the humidifier (I've got some plumbing work to finish first). I'm just trying to find out if this is "normal" or if it is due to something else.

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    Waterloo......just curious what outside temps. are you running @ in heat mode?

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Metro St. Louis
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by BigJon3475 View Post
    Waterloo......just curious what outside temps. are you running @ in heat mode?
    It's just now getting down to lows around 45. Indoor at 71. I think the highest it's been when the heat pump kicked on was around 55. This weekend should be a good test - we should have lows in the mid/upper 30s. I expect to see 2nd stage start kicking in around 30 with aux starting around 20.

    Of course, that doesn't mean I didn't test it for < 5 min when it was in the mid 60s.....

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6,285
    Okay I was just checking most heatpumps that I know of should not be run @ 60&#186; or above and in cooling mode @ 60&#186; or below unless setup for it. There is usually a warning about system damage and the exact temp it should not be ran under or over.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    279
    I'm Lead Tech for 95% of the service, been using Goodman for 4 years this winter, so far we are at 14-20 warranty calls, and that is for OUR 1,000 units we have installed. Probably 70% furnace and the rest %30 A/C...

    Goodman equipment has treated us Pretty Dam good, every Furnace gets a new 28x8" large return connected to a 4" media cabinet, all of our plenums are real plenums no cap and collar side job Joe Crap. Gas pressures are always checked and our customers are awesome, they have tune-ups every year if not every 2 to 3 as we educate them

    Where I work we did sell Bryant for 22 years, same units per year, we shoot for 200-250 units per year, there has been a few years that we topped $10,000-$20,000 in warranty...

    So with that said Goodman products treat us Great, with this buyout as long as they continue doing what the previous owners have been doing for the past 5-8 years then I do not see NOT using Goodman....

    Installation is the KEY !!!
    I forgot my Pen !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    Think of the old stuff as dumb and strong and the new stuff as smart but just not so tough.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Quote Originally Posted by awsomeears View Post
    So with that said Goodman products treat us Great, with this buyout as long as they continue doing what the previous owners have been doing for the past 5-8 years then I do not see NOT using Goodman....
    Umm, this thread you resurrected is from 5 years ago, the last time Goodman changed hands, not the current Daikin purchase of Goodmana.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,085
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    Umm, this thread you resurrected is from 5 years ago, the last time Goodman changed hands, not the current Daikin purchase of Goodmana.
    I believe the correct term is "goodaikan"
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    141
    Go ahead and rain on the parade, mark! And I think "Goodmanaiken" should be the official un-official tag

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    279
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    Umm, this thread you resurrected is from 5 years ago, the last time Goodman changed hands, not the current Daikin purchase of Goodmana.
    Ohh dear lord ............

    I was sent this link and didn't read the date, didn't even click
    I forgot my Pen !!!

    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    Think of the old stuff as dumb and strong and the new stuff as smart but just not so tough.

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    I sold Goodman for 2 years..... Glad I quit ...was not happy with product
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    Moved to General forum.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event