Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123

    Mitsubishi Ductless Splits Mr. Slim

    Installed 2 Mitz. Ductless Split today,,,, after leak check, evauation..I asked the Electrician ..I hired........... If it was all set to fire up....

    He says go ahead....turn the disconnect...on...
    POP
    He yells down ...standing in front of the Air Handler

    He ended up smokin.. the board on the AH

    Has Anyone had any experience with the wiring for these units...
    and should I pay this hack...for destoying my payday ?

    Now, I will need to contact the supply house on Monday..to replace the board...that he smoked

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    1,063
    What was wrong?
    Experience is what you have an hour after you need it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123
    Well,
    He Failed to run a 3 wire...for the power supply///

    L1 N L2

    He ran ONLY 2 wires...
    I may go with another electician...
    to fix the problem
    pissed m,e off !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,656
    The power supply for the indoor unit?
    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,656
    All you need is L1 and L2 and a ground.

    The indoor unit gets power from the outdoor unit, maybe he wired 230V to the 12V dc controll going to the indoor unit.

    If he did you are F***ed.


    As the contractor before any switch get turned on you need to double check all wiring BEFORE you power it up.
    Last edited by Freezeking2000; 10-06-2007 at 08:54 PM. Reason: added
    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Freezeking2000 View Post
    All you need is L1 and L2 and a ground.

    The indoor unit gets power from the outdoor unit, maybe he wired 230V to the 12V dc controll going to the indoor unit.

    If he did you are F***ed.


    As the contractor before any switch get turned on you need to double check all wiring BEFORE you power it up.

    Alot of times the outdoor unit is 120V and the electrician are used to using 240V outside
    I have had this happen to me twice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Now I aways check before plugging in the disconnect. Go ahead and order a control board and if the transformer is not part of the board, order a transformer too.

    Good Luck
    Last edited by moose412000; 10-07-2007 at 12:01 AM. Reason: forgot the first statement

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123
    I am looking at the schematic for Mitz. MS 15 series
    INDOOR UNIT

    2 1 N L1
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    2 1 N L1 L1 N L2 Ground
    outdoor unit . . . .
    power
    supply

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123
    The schematic failed to show up

    there is a 12 V dc source

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    123
    12 V DC (polar)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Balto, MD.
    Posts
    200
    After that happened did you ask the electrican if he could read?
    The name plate shows correct voltage and the panel is clear as day how to wire the unit!
    But who ever is the start up technician was should have check all that before power is energized to the unit.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Western Kansas
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by cjcargo View Post
    After that happened did you ask the electrican if he could read?
    The name plate shows correct voltage and the panel is clear as day how to wire the unit!
    But who ever is the start up technician was should have check all that before power is energized to the unit.
    Agreed!...We went out to install a 230 volt 3-phase at a plant, checked voltage at the contactor before startup 440 volts. Turns out the boss missed that on the label of the old condensor and ordered the wrong one. Glad voltage was checked before we fired it up. That comp. would have been screaming (for a few seconds anyway)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30

    Model #'s

    What model #'s are you installing?

    Tom

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,656
    Quote Originally Posted by dismas66 View Post
    I am looking at the schematic for Mitz. MS 15 series
    INDOOR UNIT

    2 1 N L1
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    . . . .
    2 1 N L1 L1 N L2 Ground
    outdoor unit . . . .
    power
    supply
    MS-a09 or 12 cooling only unit has 230V to indoor and outdoor unit. I would not think a missing neutral would smoke it up. Look for the model #s in the instruction sheet so it will get properly connected.
    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event