Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    36

    Remote Access Thermostats w/o a Service Fee?

    Is anyone aware of one? I'm looking for a stat that will plug into my home network that I can control through a web browser pointed at the stat - like you would configure a router.

    The Evolution seems to only be controllable from Bryant's website (can't bypass) along with an annual service fee. Honeywell has something similar, but also has a fee. I'm looking for something like the Evolution, but that I can setup and control myself.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    853
    Have you tried here:

    www.smarthome.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Dallas (Plano), TX
    Posts
    168
    The AprilAire 8870 Communicating tstats have an RS485 interface, that wires up to whatever your controlling electronics / processor is. This is typically how web interface is done.

    Many of the big commercial automators, like AMX and Crestron use the 8870 tstats in their automation implementations.

    I've had the 8870 tstats running at my residence for a number of years, as part of zoned implementation with computer control of the tstats. the 8870s are pretty solid tstats, and, work for both conventional A/C-Heat (2 stages AC, 3 Heat) or 3 stages of Heat Pump.

    Best regards,

    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Boise Idaho
    Posts
    1,032
    go to xci's homepage. I installed one of these in my uncles cabin with the modem and everything, but he is family and I did it for beer and food. Its not going to be cheap.


    matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Southern California, LA Metro
    Posts
    392
    The Infinity Remote access module will interface with a home automation system and or the skytel Internet.

    Carrier’s Infinity Remote Access uses state of the art
    technology to control Infinity systems via telephone and
    Internet. The system also offers enhanced peace of mind through
    telephone and email routine and urgent maintenance notifications.
    — 3--wire installation into the Infinity System wire bus
    — Internet access into your Infinity System
    — Telephone access into your Infinity System
    — Check your system status and change settings from
    anywhere
    — Intuitive web navigation for non--technical customers
    — Easy to program a schedule with day and
    week--at--a--glance programming
    — Override your system schedule on the run
    — Schedule a future vacation setting
    — Emails and calls for routine maintenance reminders
    — Emails and calls for urgent service reminders
    — Dealer can diagnose a system problem remotely
    — Optional Home Automation capabilities through an
    RS--232 port. Communicate information through an
    open ASCII protocol

    Or you can go simple with a Venstar thermostat with a "Comfort Call" module. These are accessible with voice menu and phone call. See them at thermostatusa.com
    Larger Duct, Larger Duct, More Air, More Air
    READ THE MANUAL
    What if I train them and they leave?
    What if you Don't train them and they Stay!
    DSG member

  6. #6
    How about: www.proliphix.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    12,189
    Quote Originally Posted by auggieben View Post
    That's what I was thinking.

    Ain't cheap, but is accessible via internet. No additional fees.
    Perhaps you should have read the instructions before calling.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,662
    We've done a few jobs and the t-stat was a Hai brand. The home automation company supplied them and hooked up their end. We wired our low voltage to them and to the furnaces, started up, etc... They took over from there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    133
    How about the Honeywell VisionPro IAQ Stat. and a phone module?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kennesaw, GA
    Posts
    31
    Anybody ever hooked up Honeywell part#W8735A1005 (RS-232 to EnviroCOM expander) to a VisionPro IAQ? If that combination worked could it theoretically be controlled by a home automation system?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event