Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    15

    Reliatel Trane Can't Start

    Hit dont work. What should I do? The supply fan runs. The supply thermistor's OK. On test all the systems run. The troubleshooting nonsense was not helpful. It won't start in default mode after fifteen minutes. It's wired to an invensys controller that I'm about to unwire. There is a relay from the controller I haven't jumpered yet, but that's next. Q: Is it something others have encountered before? Will I have to call Trane?!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    517
    First off, yes I have seem alot of problems with Trane units. The Reliatel is a control system on 3 to 50 ton units. Fill us in on the unit and we can help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    15

    More info coming.

    When I get to the job tomorrow morning, I'll get the chapter and the verse, and post it here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    15

    Trane Info

    The invensys controller is a MNL-800.
    The Trane is: TCH240B40BJB W/ Voyager III VAV, and Supply and Exhaust fan VFDs.
    The board shows two quarter sec flashes, but no diagnostic can be discovered. The economizer function does not.
    We have five such units. The others work OK.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    jacksonville
    Posts
    87
    Not trying to be a smart a$$ but, get the manual that comes with the unit and read it. It that doesn't work, get the reliatel troubleshooting guide that Trane puts out. Both are very informative.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    517
    What is your VDC at the RTRM board J6 terminals?
    J6-6 to J6-7= ?
    J6-6 to J6-8= ?
    J6-6 to J6-9= ?
    J6-6 to J6-10= ?

    You could have anything from a sensor fail, transducer, estop, sct....

    Its a nice unit if you understand how to troubleshoot the controls.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UTAH
    Posts
    145

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    15

    Yes, some hope.

    wisecracker: I take that in good spirit. I don't assume someone has tried the obvious. We've reviewed the manual, done the tests.
    bruiseandy: Looks like you've hooked me up with a rockin' PDF. Those boards can be mysterious iffin you don't know what goes where.
    ej45: I'll get those for you. I know I got nothing on 6-8, 34v on 6-9, 1v on 6-10. I think. I'll verify. 6-8 is my ac that's not working. They have been nice units. We have four that are bigger. We'll need to learn to fix them. It is a controls issue, because they run on test mode.
    With the help from this site I'm sure to whip it good.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    15

    Smile massage the data

    Turned out to be a bad RTOM Board. Replaced that and the LED on the RTRM stopped blinking and the unit started running. Amazing.
    Thanks for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event