Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

unusual noise at metering device

I'm a semi-retired HVAC service tech with some install experience. I installed the AC system in my own home with the air handler in the attic. I forgot to put in a liquid line filter drier. Dumb mistake! Anyway, the lineset runs over my bedroom. When the AC runs at night when I'm in bed, I can hear a rattling sound. I've gone into the attic during the day and notice a gurgling, pulsing sound coming from where the lines enter the air handler. The system operates fine. I get pressures 205/62 at 80 degrees ambient with a 23 degree superheat and 13 degree subcool and an 18 degree temperature drop across the Ecoil. Real respectable, I'd say, but I can't help but wonder if something is amiss.

Any ideas?

Sounds like vapor in the liq. line....double check your charge
    Some people just aren't smart enough to be stupid....

Quote Originally Posted by mldncx1 View Post
    I'm a semi-retired HVAC service tech with some install experience. .
    This would be service related problem anyway if there is even a problem, if you go here
    below and fill this out and apply we can help you out more.

http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=116113
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

"Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

23 degree superheat sounds kinda high. TXV or Orfice?
    You can't fix stupid

I've tried to apply for pro membership before but can't get by the first instruction which is "copy this" I'm a computer idiot and don't know how to do much of anything.

It's a fixed orifice.