Thread: Apprentice

Apprentice

Hello,
    I am currently in the military and will be seperating in 2 weeks. I have spoken to the local union back home and will be on my way to getting an apprenticeship through helmets to hardhats (I was told that I just need to show up but I'll see how that goes). My major worry is that I have no HVAC experience. This didn't bother me until I have been researching the job and it seems many people with prior schooling and experience start apprenticeships. I just bought a study book for HVAC so I hope that helps. My main question is for anyone that has either gone through an apprenticeship program or has any knowledge of whether or not they will start from square one. I really don't want to be that guy that just holds everyone back, but I also want to be proficient at my job.

Thanks

The fact that you are worried about it tells me you'll be fine. Go in with an open mind ,listen carefully to the things you don't yet have a concept of yet, and you will recall that info when it comes around.

that military experience will jump start you into the field in just being organized and working with other the rest will come as the jobs go.actually on job work beats any schooling and if your somebody that can pick up things by watching and not afraid to ask question you'll be OK
    "when in doubt...jump it out" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Px5YcOeQB4I

Thank you for your service!

The fact that you have military training behind you puts you way ahead of the pack. But remember, everyone starts with an apprenticeship of some sort. Take any opportunity for advancing your education, try to meet as many people that are skilled in the trade, and work (and study) your butt off.

JMHO- try to stay commercial. Better pay, better working conditions, and more interesting equipment.

Focus on your goals, don't let anyone deter you. Vets are the BEST!
    Experience is what you have an hour after you need it.

Just read Maxter's post...