Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking Vav Sytems setup

I am new to commercial controls and I have a few questions:

(1) I have a VAV box with a series fan and hot water re-heat the current setup is for a 1000 cfm box. Max airflow is set to 600 cfm. They set it up originally in Tracer for the min cooling and min heating the same. My question is how do you know what to set the max airflow, min cooling and min heating. I always thought the min heating was supposed to be lower with hot water reheat. Does the series fan pulling plenum air have something to do with setting the min cooling and heating the same?

Many times a series fan is just to aid in the movement of air to get it where it needs to be. Whenever the space and/or VAV box is in the "occupied mode" (assuming it has this) the fan needs to be running.

It is not uncommon for the min cooling and heating to be the same. When the designer runs the calculation for heating, the CFM is generally no where near the requirements for cooling. You do however have this large duct work that's set up to accommodate the cooling CFM. Since this is the case, they will generally design the overall heating CFM at 50% of the cooling CFM (make sense?). Another thought is to make the min 10% for cooling and a little bit more for heating. You will probably still require more CFM for heating since the heat transfer of the coil will be dependent on the CFM across it. So based on your settings you could go:

600 CFM Max Cooling
    60 CFM Min cooling
    300 CFM Heating.

A series fan powered VAV Box is designed to deliver a constant volume of air to the space. Depending on the deviation from setpoint in the occupied cooling mode the discharge air temperature will vary depending on whether the VAV is pulling mostly primary conditioned air from the AHU/RTU supply duct or a mix of return / plenum air.