Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Is there a problem with my NEW A/C?

    Why does the A/C unit turn off before the target temperature is reached? I have my thermostat set at 74. The temp on the thermostat said it was 77 but the unit turned off.
    Why does it do that?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SA
    Posts
    127
    go thru your set up menu on your t-stat

    what t-stat do you have

    carefull no DIYS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    566
    what type of tstat do you have. I have seen the honeywell pro 5000 do this one time, changed it out and all was good. have your contractor come out to look at it, verify proper operation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18
    We have a honeywell thermostat. Not sure of the model though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    747
    did you program your tstat. do you understand what hold does?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,576
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
    Why does the A/C unit turn off before the target temperature is reached? I have my thermostat set at 74. The temp on the thermostat said it was 77 but the unit turned off.
    Why does it do that?
    If this happens every cycle, then the t-stat is out of calibration. Could be the set point, or it could be the thermometer reading, or both. Just set it to a temperature that keeps you comfortable.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    962

    Wink

    Is it digital or round. If it's a mercury bulb type stat it must be level on the wall. If it's not it can cause what you are describing. If digital it could be out of calibration like earlier stated.
    I love to Cook...HVAC is a hobby that pays the bills!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by acmech13 View Post
    did you program your tstat. do you understand what hold does?
    Yes, to both of your question.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by makinmoney View Post
    Is it digital or round. If it's a mercury bulb type stat it must be level on the wall. If it's not it can cause what you are describing. If digital it could be out of calibration like earlier stated.
    It's digital.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    747
    has system reached temp yet?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event