Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16

    Ice on refrigerant line

    Worse time that this can happen. Our service techs can't get out here until Friday and we just started a Heat Wave! So basically, the unit isn't cooling. Everythings running normally. Just cleaned the filters lastnight because it wasn't cooling too well yesterday, now its barely cooling at all. Went outside to the unit and noticed that the refrigerent line is iced up just outside the condensor. What does this mean and what can I do? Oh, also, while I was cleaning it, it was leaking water which was expected but is still leaking water from the bottom with it running. The pump is working so its not leaking from there. Thanks in advance for all replies. Got 4 kids at home and they're boiling!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    44
    Iced up suction line could be low air flow, low charge, dirty evap., plugged metering device. Try running the indoor fan (only-no cooling) to see if you can melt the ice. Maybe you can get enough cooling to get you to friday, depending on how humid it is there. Where eactly is the water coming from?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    You need to turn off the system until your tech can get there or call another company.
    You may damage the unit and end up buying a new system.
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southern NJ
    Posts
    962
    You can run the fan in manual "on" from your T-stat to circulate air until a Tech arrives. Just make sure it doesn't go into cooling and tries to bring on the compressor. You can do this at the stat as well.
    I love to Cook...HVAC is a hobby that pays the bills!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,743
    if the filter was very dirty that could cause the ice up.

    shut off a/c and run fan only for 4-6 hours.

    turn a/c back on and see how it does, if it ices up again leave it off till it can be serviced.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    south of Houston
    Posts
    126
    Get a window unit from Home Depot or whatever, less than 100-300 bucks. I have one to cool my shop and comes in handy for homeowners in a pinch.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    FLORIDA
    Posts
    1,163
    Quote Originally Posted by t527ed View Post
    if the filter was very dirty that could cause the ice up.

    shut off a/c and run fan only for 4-6 hours.

    turn a/c back on and see how it does, if it ices up again leave it off till it can be serviced.

    dude its monday,unless its free and you can suffer thruogh, i would call another company that can give you some service even if its just a gas and go and i'll be back to leak check and repair

    but like ed said if that filter was real dirty i would shut down and let it run with the fan only for a few hours
    once you think you've seen it all
    (THINK AGAIN)
    I would rather work for free than be look upon as a thief!!!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    16
    Thanks everyone for the replies. tried leaving it off for a few hours and turned it back on without any luck. The ice turned out to be just frost on the line where the liner is torn and the line is exposed to the outside air, think that's normal. Along with the no cooling, alot of water is draining from the air handler onto the floor although the drain pump is working. What can this be? Also, my air cleaner is now giving me a fault light on the display. All sorts of things going wrong! We already had a window unit that we used before we put this in so I threw that in last night. So we can atleast wait until Friday when the tech shows up. At this point, I'm more curious about what the issue might be. Without knowing anything about these systems, I'm speculating that the internal components in the air handler are freezing up and this can account for the extra water when the system gets turned off. I did feed a rolled up paper towell down the access tube on the drain and pulled it out wet which I think would mean that water is draining into the pump. The pump however doesn't go on as frequently as it has under normal working conditions. Like I said, at this point, we're just going to wait for the tech, but I like to have some knowledge and troubleshooting insight with these things. Thanks again everyone!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event