another taylor ice cream machine problem
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    another taylor ice cream machine problem

    I started up my taylor model 754 today and put through sanitizing solution.....turned on the wash cycle and nothing happened.........of course i shut down the machine hit reset and nothing tried this several more times then i emptied the machine out, everything is free in side, the freezer comes on no problem and frosts up the barrel. I took the side panel off reached in and could spin the belt and the motor it spins the shaft no problem its free and easy. ANy help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    55
    you may have a bad switch, did you trace the wires and check for power????

  3. #3
    yes i traced the power output as far as i could . there is no power going to the motor. so yeah it must be a switch thats as far as i could take it so I have a tech coming tmmrw...... thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Dallas Tx
    Posts
    55
    it must be something like a defective switch or lose wire, if the machine is brand new. but hope you get it working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    258

    Cool

    when you put it into auto does the beater motor kick on with the compressor or just the compressor?
    Knowledge comes with experience

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10
    nickellhead...i have a question, i own a FroYo shop in HB California... i had one of my taylor 754 crap out - i started troubleshooting and found out that the gear box was seized, i got another gear box from another machine that i keep for parts, after i installed i noticed that the belts are loose when compared to the other side, i operated the machine and it works, but when it produt gets stiff the belt slips for a couple of seconds before the cycle ends! how do i increase te tension on the belt... i saw a couple of bolts with springs on the motor mount, i suspect they have something to do with adjustment of belt tension but i figured i better ask you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    258
    The two bolts with springs on the metal bracket that holds your motor is for your belt tension. They should be 1/2" bolts with 1/2" nuts. You tighten those down evenly till you have about 1/2" play in belt. If it still squalls after that you need to check your scraper blades and viscosity setting for that side. Hope that helps you!
    Knowledge comes with experience

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10
    Thank you for your quick reply! I wish i had even one tenth of your knowledge on these machines!!! when i first opened the shop (with used Taylor 754) i had to bring someone to fix every little thing! now with time i have learned a couple of things and i am saving myself the $500 service calls!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10
    Nickllhead...another question...i have another Taylor 754 in my shop that has been working fine for the last year ... about three weeks ago ... one of the employees calls me and says when i tried to put one side of machine on auto in the morning all i heard was a beep but didn't feel the machine actually click and start working like the other side... i go check and found out that the overload had tripped and i pushed the reset on that side and machine worked fine... that lasted for about 2 weeks... then same scenario happened again...so i did the same thing... this past week it happened about 5 times... so i thought initially maybe the problem was the viscosity was set too high and product might be freezing harder causing the motor to draw too much amperage and tripping on OL... after i reset it i brought viscosity way down until the machine cut out on its own and was able to cycle in and out a few cycles while i was there with no tripping... but yesterday i get another call and same problem ... so i check the machine today and figured maybe the reset button OL is bad so i bypassed it... and machine worked fine for a couple of hours while i was there... on my way home empyee called me and said machine is squealing and SMOKING from the back so i asked the employee to shut it off and was able to put on wash cycle later on and empty product... so i guess th squealing was due to the belts slipping on pulleys and maybe product was too stiff for beater to turn??? smoking is from belts rubbing??? i am not sure what is going on....can the control board be intermittent and work fine some times and crap out and freeze product rock solid at other times... i am sure the squealing and smoking would not have happened had i not bypass the OL trip switch...but i am not sure what is the root cause for this...when i turned the viscosity down the machine was cycling fine for the few cycles i was monitoring!... can the gear box be intermittent and jam up...no odd noises of damaged bearing or anything like that though... i need you experience with this... and i appreciate your time... sorry for the long winded explanation... but i tried to describe everything that i did ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    258
    Ash, I just seen your post. Have you checked your belt tension? Also check the drive coupling in the back. Sometimes the set screws come loose and they'll turn for a little while and then slide back causing product to freeze up and then slide back forward tripping overload.
    Knowledge comes with experience

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by nickellhead View Post
    Ash, I just seen your post. Have you checked your belt tension? Also check the drive coupling in the back. Sometimes the set screws come loose and they'll turn for a little while and then slide back causing product to freeze up and then slide back forward tripping overload.
    thank for the reply, it turned out to be an intermittent power board, it sometimes left the compresser running until the product became too stiff, i replaced the board and have not had an issue since!!

    can you give me a quick run down on how to adjust the setting on the logic board, especially the mix set screw! thanks a lot!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    cincinnati, ohio
    Posts
    258
    To adjust the logic board. The left potentiometer (mix) controls the hopper temp. The middle potentiometer controls the barrel viscosity when in auto. And the right potentiometer controls barrel temp when in standby. Clockwise lowers temp and counter raises temp. The mix potentiometer on the right side logic board isn't hooked up. The one on the left side controls the hoppers. Hope that helps. Also if you replaced the power board there is an amp range jumper on it. You want to make sure the new one is in the same place.
    Knowledge comes with experience

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by nickellhead View Post
    To adjust the logic board. The left potentiometer (mix) controls the hopper temp. The middle potentiometer controls the barrel viscosity when in auto. And the right potentiometer controls barrel temp when in standby. Clockwise lowers temp and counter raises temp. The mix potentiometer on the right side logic board isn't hooked up. The one on the left side controls the hoppers. Hope that helps. Also if you replaced the power board there is an amp range jumper on it. You want to make sure the new one is in the same place.
    thank you so much for this valuable information!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event