Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Confused are heat pumps more prone to mold problems

I am a relatively knowledgeable layman, but I know when I am in over my head and this is it. I have gotten seriously conflicting advice from my local HVAC pros regarding the situation described below, so any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

We had a two stage 16i Trane heat pump (with electric backup) in our home from 2007-2010 that had an intractable mold problem. The coil turned completely black after just one year, we replaced it, and it turned black again after another year. We had over a dozen HVAC contractors come out and try to address it, but other than giving a name to the problem (Dirty Sock Syndrome, as you probably all know), they were unable to do anything about it. We did all the standard stuff (UV lights, etc.) but nobody could fix it. For reasons unrelated to this problem we had to sell the house anyway, so finding the cause of this became a moot point. But it really was a nightmare. It stunk all the time and caused some health problems.

Fast forward to today. We have just purchased another home and are putting a new system in (we are reducting the entire home as well). We would like to get a heat pump, but we want to make sure that we do not repeat the experience that we had before. In reading these forums, it seems to me that although any system can have mold in it, and although having a competent installer is the most important thing (I really do get this one!), heat pumps still tend to be more prone to mold problems than standard furnace/ac configurations. So our initial inclination was just to avoid heat pumps altogether. However, we do find the blasts of hot air coming from a standard furnace in the winter to be uncomfortable, and so as far as comfort is concerned we would prefer a heat pump.