Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: SEER vs EER

Arrow SEER vs EER

Can someone explain to me the difference between SEER and EER?

A customer today was more interested in EER, saying SEER didn't really matter. We looked up a couple of dual fuel applications and came up with the following (or close to as best my memory serves me)....

Lennox systems with G60UHV variable speed furnace and ARI matched coils....
    3ton systems

XP13 - SEER 13.5 EER 11.5

XP15 - SEER 13.7 EER 11.2

XP 16 - SEER 16.0 EER 11.7

Basically, the question was asked, why buy higher SEER equipment. I'm not technical enough to know the answer. Fortunately one of our sales guys was dealing with him direct so I didn't have to sound stupid. But I'd certainly like to learn a little today.

Anyone want to share some wisdom??

Quote Originally Posted by ItshotinBama View Post
    Can someone explain to me the difference between SEER and EER?
    Apparently not. The Wikipedia link only says that EER is related to COP and SEER. About the only thing I saw that actually SAID what EER is was:
    "The relationship between SEER and EER is relative depending on where you live because equipment performance is dependent of air temperatures, humidities, and pressures."
    I asked a similar question a while back and didn't really get a definitive answer. I was P.O.'d that my SEER 16 heatpumps didn't qualify for the tax credit, which required an EER of 12.5.

So, I don't think anyone anywhere knows! It's just one of those things, I guess...

EER is measured in fixed operating conditions - 80F inside, 90F outside. (correct me if I'm wrong)

SEER is an average figure over so called "typical operating conditions". Real operating conditions vary greatly; SEER should only be used to compare different units.

According to the State of California...