Smile Newbie with questions

Howdy folks.

Noob from Atlanta here with some questions.

I am currently an acting regional property manager for a government agency in Atlanta/Fulton County. I am SMT/SMA certified, and started out as the Maintenance Super, and moved up into Property management of the all the same buildings. One of the buildings has a York 90 ton centrifugal chiller on it that has been well maintained, but is now 12 years old. The past 3 years, it has been running pretty much 24-7 as this building is a 24-7 property, and always has people in it. A Johnson-metasys controlls system is also present, but it is a very old system, and extremely limited ( install date of 1995 )

I am worried that the chiller is now in the critical age, and may fail in the next few years. Problem is, with the way Fulton County works, there is little to no contingency money for this in my budget, and the money to put it on a Fullservice PM contract with an HVAC company also does not exist. basically, I'm on my own.

1. If properly maintained, how long is the average lifespan of a unit like mine?
    2. In the event of a complete "scramble" (impeller gone, etc) who rents chillers in the Atlanta area?
    3. Would the rental company be likely to provide the hookups, hoses etc for the chiller to interface with my system?
    4. any details you can share about your contingency plans, experiances, etc..will help. I'm new to being a Property Manager, and not afraid to ask for help, so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

-JV26
    Last edited by Jv26; 06-12-2007 at 01:19 PM.

centrifugal life span

I think that you are getting ahead of yourself a little a properly maintained centrifugal should easily last 30 - 40 years I have worked on centrifugals that were 60 years old and currently have one that is 44 y/o.