Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

silfoss vs stay-brite

I've been installing residential equipment for 25 years and have used stay brite on service valves, txv's, driers, etc. with very good luck. Everyone tells me on 410 systems you cannot use stay brite, must braze. I have yet to find a manufacturer, dealer or tech that can explain why. The strenth of SB will handle the higher pressures.
    Any insight?

I used Stay Brite #8 when I installed the R410a heat pump at my house with no problems. Most techs cannot soft solder well and do not know the advantages of Stay Brite. The last time I spoke to a rep of the Harris company (they make soldering and brazing alloys) he told me if he could carry just one alloy, it would be Stay Brite #8, as it is the best all around alloy they make.
    Remember, Air Conditioning begins with AIR.

You guys use soft solder to sweat equipment in.

Braze vs. Solder

Years ago we used StayBrite for our low side connections but in Massachusetts now it's a code requirement to braze all connections both indoors and out, residential and commercial. I don't know the tensil strength of StayBrite #8 but even 50/50 lead/tin solder have pretty high numbers. However, the actual burst pressures of an R-410A system can also be very high. R-410A operates in the 500+ psig range, which means the test pressure of the vessels must be at least 1,000 psig. The burst pressure should be double that or 2,000 psig. Calculating the joining surface area of a 7/8-inch suction line as 1.531 inches, the joint would be subjected to 3,061 pounds of force under extreme conditioins, such as in a fire. Maybe that's why they want brazing, eh?

As long as manufacturers instructions continue to call for brazed connections, and Stay Bright continues to require acid flux, I'll stick to 15% silver phos/copper brazing alloy for copper to copper refrigerant connections.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.