Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30

    Red face Design Preferences

    Hi All: First, I would like to say that this is a great site. I've been lurking for a few days and have enjoyed the reading and I even learned a few things.

    Me: Small Electrical HVAC Contractor 28Yrs, 23 Yrs respectively. I have done Commercial work for the past 17 yrs.

    I am going to be installing Electrical and HVAC system in my new home. Cluster Home, Basement, 1st and 2nd Flrs 4350 Sq Ft. Interior Unit E & W walls adjoin other homes. R 38 Attic, R-11 N & S Seathing, Tyvek, w/Brick.
    Kolbe Insulated Windows.

    N of Balto, MD

    Manual J Whole House HG 29,561 HL 41014
    Basement 1/2 Below Grade HG 2421 HL 6197
    1st: HG 17,145 HL 22,729
    2nd: HG 9,993 HL 12,088

    Manual J Seemed light for Sq Ft but I have reviewed it, changed items to worst case senarios, etc.

    I am leaning towards 1 System 4 Zones.
    We install York Equipment so that is what I will use. Affinity 2 Stage Variable Gas Furnace and Condensing Unit.
    Honeywell TZ-4 Zone Control. Haven't gotten to IAQ as yet

    Also: I am using all METAL ductwork (2" Ductwrap in attic)except branches in the attic which will be flex sealed with mastic at connections.

    Any comments would be appreciated. Sorry for the winded post!

    Thanks, Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,712
    I'm guessing your installing a 3 ton YZE.

    You'll have to use a bigger furnace then you think to get the SEER match.

    What will the load be of the smallest zone.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    beenthere: Thanks for the response.

    The smallest Zone is the Basement. 1st Fl, 2nd FL, Great Rm HG 7621 HL 8485 & Basement are the 4 Zones. CFM Required 1st Fl 350, Great Rm 260, Second FL 400, Basement 10? HVAC Calc Residential 4.0 is the program that I used to generate this info.

    Thanks, Tom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    20,857
    I agree on the TZ-4 board. I use that one when I do zoning. You will get a few guys that like Arzel, it uses air pressure rather than electricity to actuate the zone dampers.

    Be sure to work out all the details ahead of time. Then put it on a shelf and forget it for a week... then review it and find any details that do not look right... and resolve them. IMO a lot easier to do it on paper ahead of time.

    I like your duct design BTW.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,712
    You used HVAC CALC.
    Look at the sensible btu's. Then check teh tech guide to see which YZE will meet that at the design temps you entered. Then look at the CFM it must move to meet the sensible. You may have to adjust zone CFM.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2007 at 06:28 AM.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,712
    If your going to have the basement as a zone.
    I would slave it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    30
    Hi All: Thanks for the input.

    I am just in the design stage now, and it is amazing the amount of info out there on the net for residential HVAC products.

    A supply house that we deal with just started carrying Arzel. Anyone know, what size and how much noise the compressor makes for the air supply? I assume that you have to use a small air compressor to operate the dampers.

    We've worked on pneumatic systems before and they are pretty reliable.

    I am going to shelve it for a few days as the house is just coming out of the ground.

    Thanks, Tom

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,712
    The compressor is contained in the zone panel.
    Its very small, and you won't hear it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event