Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: R22 system service question

Post Likes

R22 system service question

Goodman 4-ton condensing unit, Goodman 5-ton evaporator.

My 5 year old evaporator was replaced earlier this week (don't use clorox), and they had to evacuate the entire system because the service valve on the high-side line was stripped out. After the evaporator was installed, they removed both line driers (one was installed inside the condenser by the mfgr) and replaced them with only one. A vacuum was drawn, and then the system was recharged with R22. I have limited experience with automotive A/C systems, but shouldn't some oil have been added if the entire system was evacuated? I asked the A/C tech that question and he said that the R-22 acts as a lubricant when it becomes a liquid, but that doesn't make sense. All I know is that they had a large green canister of R-22; I don't know if that has any mixed in or not. Thanks.

Post Likes
    A miniscule amount of oil comes out when evacuating the system.
    Most of the oil is in the compressor. It's not a problem on residential systems.
    “I am for doing good to the poor, but...I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it. I observed...that the more public provisions were made for the poor, the less they provided for themselves, and of course became poorer. And, on the contrary, the less was done for them, the more they did for themselves, and became richer.”
    ― Benjamin Franklin

Post Likes
    If charged properly you should not have a problem.

Post Likes
    removing both the factory installed drier and the external drier and replacing with a single new one is a good service practice that many do not take the time to do. Re-charging the oil on a hermetic resi system is rarely, almost never, needed. Sounds like your guy is at least in the upper 50% of the resi techs out there.

Post Likes