Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Question Single Stage vs. 2 Stage T-stat

Hello, all. I am a newbie here, but I have been reading posts for a year or so. Excellent site, very helpful. I just installed a Bryant Evolution Plus furnace
    (80%, 2 stage, VS fan), a Bryant single stage A/C condenser, and a W-R single stage touchscreen t-stat. I'm very happy with the install, good installer (Factory Certified, NATE, etc.). I read on here that a 2 stage furnace should always have a 2 stage t-stat. I spec'd a 2 stage t-stat for this job, but the installer vehemently insisted on a single stage t-stat. He said that the Evolution has its own board that controls the 2 stage logic/algorithms, etc. so there is no need for the t-stat to do that with a 2 stage t-stat, and that if I had a cheaper unit without the board, only then would I need a 2 stage t-stat the run the logic/algorithms, etc. He also mentioned that the condenser was only a single stage. Is the installer correct? If not, was he trying to keep the job within budget (is a 2 stage t-stat much more $ than a single stage t-stat?), or was he trying to avoid pulling new wires (the wire path in my house to the t-stat is a bit convoluted, perhaps the installer recognized this and was trying to avoid more labor cost on the budget? Does a 2 stage t-stat require more wires than what was on the 1960's vintage system that was replaced?) I'm trying to decide if I should go back to the installer now, while the system is very new, and request a swap-out to a 2 stage t-stat. The posts here say that you get better "comfort" with a 2 stage t-stat. My system seems very comfortable so far. "Comfort" is a bit vague. What specifically am I missing without a 2 stage t-stat? Your thoughts, input, and opinions would be most appreciated and thanks for reading!

Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, and Califormia