Dual Fuel System - Is Trane Fuel Kit Required?

As a new member, let me first thank everyone in advance for their help.

I have a dual fuel system - an oil-burning furnace and a 13 year-old Trane heat pump which I'm replacing. I have gotten two quotes from two very reputable service providers.

However, shop A gave me a quote that included a Trane XL803 thermostat AND the Fossil Fuel Kit (plus bonnet switch & outdoor sensor). Shop B gave me a quote with a Honeywell 6000 thermostat but no fuel kit.

After reading the forums here and doing a bit of searching, it appears that with the XL803, the fuel kit would not be necessary (even though they spec'd it) but that with the 6000, it would indeed be necessary. But I'm a novice and don't know for certain. so I'm wondering, under what circumstances is the fuel kit actually needed? And do I need it?

Secondly, between the two - the XL803 and the Honeywell 6000 - which is the better choice for my situation (although I believe the XL803 is a rebadged Honeywell)?

Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

-CaptCiak

With the 803, the dual fuel kit would not be needed. Nice that they are using the plenum sensor. I do believe the 6000 series would need the PLUS103 or similar dual fuel kit.

Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    With the 803, the dual fuel kit would not be needed. Nice that they are using the plenum sensor. I do believe the 6000 series would need the PLUS103 or similar dual fuel kit.
    Thanks for the help Loonie...that's what I thought. Now I just need to figure out why each spec'd out the opposite of what they should have.

Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post

One other question...why do you describe it as "nice" that they are using a plenum sensor? What else might thaty use? and why is a plenum sensor a good thing (to prevent the HP from operating when the furnace is on?)?

If I were putting it in,