Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 40
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,383
    you can data log a ch530 chiller system if you have MS Excel. it aint easy and it aint real-time, but you can do it.
    When I am late for work, I usually make up for it by leaving early.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,038
    Quote Originally Posted by Nuclrchiller View Post
    000, this is one of those topics which could easily get into discussing things that should not be discussed in an open forum. This does not reflect my opinion of you, it's just that anyone with internet access can read an open forum, including people with much more internet skills then chiller skills. Your problem could be as simple as an improper setting on your chiller. Or it may not even be a problem with your chiller, simply the chiller's response to an adverse outside condition. I suggest you have a tech, who is experienced with this style chiller, have a look at it. And those particular transformers simply monitor the voltage. They don't "keep the voltage readings clean". And, sorry, but I can't help you help with the question about TechView and Windows 8. Because I don't know. Good luck.
    Were you get those voltage monitoring transformers?

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Were you get those voltage monitoring transformers?
    Trane.....it's part of the OEM chiller controls.
    Last edited by R123; 08-14-2013 at 05:30 PM.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,038
    Hows that work?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Hows that work?
    I'm not sure i understand your question.....the transformers are part of the OEM (Original Equiptment manufacturers) controls from the factory.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,038
    How does the transformer monitor voltage? Ive never heard of such a thing. Im just curious.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    How does the transformer monitor voltage? Ive never heard of such a thing. Im just curious.
    A low voltage potential transformer has a ratio of 20. So if you have 480 volts going in, you have 480 / 20 = 24 going out. The Starter module has a 0 - 30 volt input. The transformer ratio (20) is set in the controls parameters so the controls displays the proper voltage. If the input voltage is 460, then 460 / 20 = 23. The module sees 23 volts and knows its 460 volts. If you have a medium voltage chiller, then the ratio is 140. So 4160 volts / 140 = 29.7 volts input to the starter module.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,038
    Ok, the module is actually doing the monitoring. Thanks

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    A low voltage potential transformer has a ratio of 20. So if you have 480 volts going in, you have 480 / 20 = 24 going out. The Starter module has a 0 - 30 volt input. The transformer ratio (20) is set in the controls parameters so the controls displays the proper voltage. If the input voltage is 460, then 460 / 20 = 23. The module sees 23 volts and knows its 460 volts. If you have a medium voltage chiller, then the ratio is 140. So 4160 volts / 140 = 29.7 volts input to the starter module.
    GREAT EXPLANATION 123,WELL EXPLAIN THANKS BROTHER..

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,038
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    A low voltage potential transformer has a ratio of 20. So if you have 480 volts going in, you have 480 / 20 = 24 going out. The Starter module has a 0 - 30 volt input. The transformer ratio (20) is set in the controls parameters so the controls displays the proper voltage. If the input voltage is 460, then 460 / 20 = 23. The module sees 23 volts and knows its 460 volts. If you have a medium voltage chiller, then the ratio is 140. So 4160 volts / 140 = 29.7 volts input to the starter module.
    Forgive my ignorance, what is an medium voltage chiller? 4.16Kv line voltage?

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Forgive my ignorance, what is an medium voltage chiller? 4.16Kv line voltage?
    Yes. 4160 Volts
    Sic Semper Tyrannis.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,316
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Forgive my ignorance, what is an medium voltage chiller? 4.16Kv line voltage?
    As far as chillers are concerned, anything over 600 volts. Typically 2300 volts or 4160 volts. In the electrical power distribution industry, there can be many ranges but generally 600 to 35000 volts.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Prattville, Alabama
    Posts
    2,067
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    Ok, the module is actually doing the monitoring. Thanks
    Yeah, my post above would have been more accurate describing those transformers as "part of the voltage monitoring circuit". Sorry for any confusion.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event