Page 1 of 12 1234567811 ... LastLast

union vs. non-union

i am considering moving to phoenix. i am currently a union apprentice in ohio. i am not sure of staying in the union when i move there. when i look at non-union job offers in the phoenix area, they are very competitve with the union. in which will i stay more busy?

Put yourself at the other end of your career in 30-40 years. Do you want a good retirement? Stay with the SMWIA (I did). Be proud and work hard.

Stay union..or go fight for your raises

I can't believe your even asking.
    Buy American! The job you save may be your own.

Quote Originally Posted by hvac_superman View Post
    I can't believe your even asking.
    i agree..im disappointed..hasent he read one of the several union vs nonunion threads on this site??

Quote Originally Posted by d_griff View Post
    i agree..im disappointed..hasent he read one of the several union vs nonunion threads on this site??
    Aparently not, he has no Idea what he is about to do.
    Buy American! The job you save may be your own.

stay union, you can't beat the benefits

stay union,will you have a pension working non union ?

you guys are good

thank you gentlemen. i was just seein' if you were all alive out there.

check and see if union participates in the national retirement in Phoenix. I know I checked in the Tucson area once and they did not from what I read. But in case I read wrong contact the union.

I used to work non-union for 3 years, treated like dog sht, 8am start and 2am finish everyday off either 1 sat or 1 sun every other week in the winter months, 8-8 in summer months and spring and fall 15-20hrs a week, they didnt care . went union 2 years ago and now work 40-50 hours a week have weekends off if i want, if im falling short on hours im told to go do maintance on some of our big accounts. Safety is always #1. wouldnt trade the union for nothin, best move i ever made and will not leave it for nothing.
    Proud L.U. 597 member