Thread: Walk in help

Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, and Califormia

Walk in help

Forgive me, I'm an HVAC tech not HVAC-R and this is probably an obvious problem to most of you. I thought it would be fun to install the evap and condenser on a walk in cooler. Our company doesn't do low temp so I did it on the side. The box is 10 by 8 by 8. The unit I installed was :
    Bohn ADT120AK
    D07A10852
    Evap

Russell RLH151H22D
    W06A32645504001
    Cond.

I followed all directions, LL solenoid, 6 hour vacuum, nitrogen thru brazing and for pressure test, insulated drain line w/trap, etc. The problem is the bottom half of the evap frosts 1/2" thick over night. I have 3 defrost times of 10pm 4am and 2pm @40 minutes each. The customer wants the box as cold as he can get it...I set it @ 36 and locked the stat. 2 degree differential.
    I was wondering if the defrost length was too much, allowing the box to warm up too much and then causing extended run time-IE the frosting. The customer wants me to add another defrost pin and increase the defrost length to 60 minutes. Also on the Cond. tag it says "evap temp rating 0-30F" does this mean the condenser is for a freezer and not a cooler ? With the box @ 38 I had 45 suction, 225 head, ODT of 75, clear sight glass, no pattern frosting and the TXV was maintaining acceptable superheat. Sorry for the long post. Thanks.
    "Surprised ?! If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn't be more surprised."
    Clark Griswold

All equipment was supplied by the store owner and even though it was a "side" job, I am my companies lead tech and made the powers that be, aware of what I was doing.
    "Surprised ?! If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn't be more surprised."
    Clark Griswold

Did you install the nozzle in the evaporator distributor? A missing or incorrect nozzle size is a common cause for uneven refrigerant feed that can result in icing like you describe.