Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    175

    When is good practice good practice ?

    So went on a call of a 6 door traulsen refrigerator not cooling. Upon arrival compressor off condensor fan running. Cooled compressor tried to restart it off on thermal.. Check start cap found no good ordered one. Would you recommend replacing start components I mean from trying to start for who knows how log would it be good practice to change them?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    35
    All

    I never change a start cap without changing relay. I figure the relay sticking is the most likely culprit and callbacks are expensive

    Thanks

    Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    515
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeweber3 View Post
    All

    I never change a start cap without changing relay. I figure the relay sticking is the most likely culprit and callbacks are expensive

    Thanks

    Mike
    x2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    4,448
    I always replace all start components as a set (start capacitor, current relay/or potential relay, run capacitor - if equipped, and overload - if external and replaceable).

    I also carry an assortment of 3in1's and universal relays, and amrad turbo start capacitors and run capicators, to get by in a pinch, in case I don't have the oem start components with me.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    175
    Yeah that's what I figured just wanted to check with you guys to get your take on things... Yeah this place had about four other fridges so they could do without this one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    788
    six door ? 3 on each side, or in a row ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    788
    Quote Originally Posted by yaytech View Post
    six door ? 3 on each side, or in a row ?
    by the way, change all start components when one is in question...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,855
    Always. Sometimes, supply houses will have everything but the overload. In that instance, unless there is visible damage to the overload, I would leave it in. Also, make sure the cpr is set correctly on the Traulsen. It's possible that it contributed to the death of the start components.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    175
    This refrig didn't have one, they are most common on freezers if used at all no? I've never seen on on a refrig

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    907
    I see em on dual temps and self contained units.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event