Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 21 of 21
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    2,502
    If the flex is large enough to handle the Cfm and its installed right, I don't see a problem with it.

    I've had contractors come to me after I bid a job that specs out hard pipe with 6 ft of flex. They ask what we can do to trim the bid. It's always switching to all flex. We've never had a problem with it.

    Also, I've done hundreds of what we call "burnouts" for insurance companies. Always bid flex. I know a lot of pros hate it, but its everywhere.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Life is like a jar of jalapenos. What you do today might burn your ass tomorrow.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Portland Maine
    Posts
    3
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary, or ask questions of the OP here.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 07-29-2013 at 05:02 PM. Reason: Non Pro * member

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lady's Island, SC
    Posts
    4
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary, or ask questions of the OP here.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 07-29-2013 at 05:02 PM. Reason: Non Pro * member

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,805
    Lobstergolf, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,805
    topdoc, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Lynchburg, VA
    Posts
    22
    As stated earlier, the IMC doesn't restrict the length. Typically the length is specified in the drawings and project documents.

    If there is an architect involved then I would assume that there are building/project drawings and specifications involved - have your friend review them and see if there is anything listed. If it isn't specified, then the default is the IMC and local building codes.

    Bottom line is the flexible duct can be installed correctly and not affect the airflow in a negative manner.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cal
    Posts
    1,580
    Quote Originally Posted by kirbinster View Post
    The runs of the flex look like between 15 and 20 feet each where roughly half of that is horizontal then there is what looks like 2" fiber cloth straps that hold the duct where it drop 90 degrees down to where the outlets will be.
    If I'm reading this correctly, the strap intervals are 7-10'(1/2 of 15-20)? Wire flex support intervals are 4' so your buddy either has the droopiest wireflex ducts in town or the ducts are alumaflex.

    Alumaflex is a perfectly fine product for overhead areas( no traffic to crush the ducts). It's pretty routine around these parts to run the job in A/F and make the final terminations to the diffusers with W/F.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    263
    At startup of units have airflow verified. If CFMs are correct then ductwork is OK, if low airflow then it is time to figure out why.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event