Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

DPT always over filter?

firts of all you have to know I'm a newbie first class in HVAC. so please be gently in your reply to what you might think: "that is a stupid question"

An installation where humidity, temperature and pressure in a room are very delicate some VAV' are installed to remain the demanded pressure.
    to ensure the demands are met a DPT is installed over the VAV's. after a VAV are 2 filters.
    I understand that, to know if your filter is dirty, you install a DPT.
    Is that always done? if you have 2 filters, you install 2 DPT's? or is that just too much?
    will one DPT do the job and you just replace both filters at the same time?

thanks in advance for your answer.

kind regards
    Sam Vdh

Sam,

If one filter is used as a pre-filter then I would install a DP on each filter.
    If you can't fix it with JB Weld, Duct Tape, and Ty Wire it has to be replaced.
    No good deed goes unpunished.
    If you want to take off friday to go fishing then make sure you train your helper right.

The expectation is that one filter might get 'more dirty' faster than the other. Therefore you would want to know when they individually need replacing.

The two filters you speak of, I am willing to bet, are not identical therefore it would not be wise to use just one differential pressure across both.

The only stupid questions are the ones that are never asked...

Yes they are class G4 and H14.
    thanks for your replies.

As with the others across each would be preferred, but one could use one across both.

You don't need a DPT (Differential Pressure Transducer) to know your filters are dirty. Multiple ways to do this such as differential pressure switch(es) set to trip above max differential pressure you want to see. The transducer(s) just gives you more detailed results.
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue