Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How long can a Trane last?

Im in the market for a new AC/furnace. We built the home 20 years ago and the builder put in a Comfortmaker furnace and I dont know the brand of AC. I have fixed the furnace myself a couple times including a bad board a few years ago. Im an industrial electrician but not a HVAC guy. Last year the AC got warm and had to be charged. This summer same and it took 4 pounds. I can see the end is near and after 20 years I think it had a good run.

I have gotten quotes from Trane, Carrier, Bryant and the Lennox dealer was a no show. Also still waiting on a quote from the Goodman guy but I dont have a lot of confidence in that service tech.
    Anyway seems the Trane dealer is a very well regarded dealer with a great Angies list rep. For a 1700 sq foot single story he is recomending a couple different configurations and letting me pick my price point. Seems like the XV95 furnace with a XR15 2 1/2 ton AC unit is my sweet spot. Being in the northern part of Indiana we probably use heat more than AC in reality. The current sizing seems fine and he agrees. Just need to replace it.
    His price is slightly less than the Carrier guy with similar equipemt. The carrier guy told me if I didnt buy from him to go with the Trane. Seems they are aquainted and friends.
    My question is mostly how long do these units realistly last? Seems 10-15 is norm but I got 20 out of a builder grade unit. Do people get 20 plus from a Trane? I have a buy once cry once mentality about things like this with the hope I will get closer to 20 years than 15 from a Trane from all the positive feedback from so many sources.
    Is it better to invest the money more on the quality of the furnace side or on the AC side?
    Thanks for any info and words of advice.