Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Trane rthb chiller, why delta transition delay

I have just looked at this chiller for the first time and notice on the start up that there is approx 1-2 second delay when the wye phase drops out and when the delta phasing pulls in, I even can hear where the motor starts to coast down and when the delta kicks in it sounds as if there is a pull down, only started chiller twice now due to production schedules and looked at the wiring and see where no adjustable timer relays or anything is in place that could be improperly set that is causing this delay. Most W/D starters I have seen was a pretty fast transition time between modes. Would anyone have any thoughts on this, not sure if this is a Trane design delay to prove no contractor welded is present or what.

Sounds like a closed transitions starter.
    What is the complete Model No.
    What specific questions do you have.
    What problems if any are you experiencing?
    But I am still learning and looking for a new mentor.

Trane Wye Delta Starting.pdf

Attached sequence diagram is for a later model chiller but adequately reprsents the starting sequence for wye delta (or star delta as they are known down here) starter. Motor protection current based transtion control and timing is by the chiller's microprocessor
    Necessity is the mother of invention

Guys, it sounds like he's describing the time of duration of the transition itself, not the timing from the initial start to the beginning of the transition. Regardless, humbled daily, you should get an experienced tech who is familar with this chiller to take a look. Also, is it possible you could be mistaking the starter test for the beginning of the start process? It is optional to enable or disable this test, and this may be the only chiller on site with it enabled. It is performed automatically 1-2 seconds prior to each start. No motor rotation should occur during this test.

Trane
    RTHB150FLE00NWPPT0UNN2LF2LFVAQU0
    U96K07651