Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 29
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    If at Tap 1 still too high, how can one increase static to get lower CFM?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    Also, the return intake was reduced to a grill with 15.5 x 15.5 insertable filter - AHU has 20 x20 intake /filter but couldnt be used access given the space limitations.
    Upflow unit with bottom intake - old unit was upflow with side intake. they created mini plenum under unit and installed fo return. Its in a closet.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    they created mini plenum under unit and installed the grill for return. Its in a closet.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    2,240
    It appears you are at lowest setting which is good. That high RH concerns me though. You might consider a cheap digital hygrometer for measuring humidity. I would want to know before I asked dealer to exchange for 2 ton condenser. Blower fan set to auto at thermostat?

    IMO

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    Thanks. I am using inexpensive digital hygrometer to measure RH. Blower is set to Auto. Is there a way to increase static pressure to further lower CFM without creating noise/coil performance issue?
    If I can get the noise/CFM down that would be a good start. Again, I appreciate all of your time.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    2,240
    What's outside temperature now? And what kind of runtimes are you getting at the moment.

    What is RH outside and inside? Keep a record and share with dealer. He might give you some suggestions.

    I am not a believer in jury rigging or artificial manipulation. Don't want to do anything that might hurt system and jeopardize warranty especially on a forum like this.

    mO

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    Right now its 94 RH43 - inside 75 RH50 (digital hygro) roughly 10 minute cycles. I would not do anything by myself, the dealer would do any changes. I too am not a fan of jury rigging. I will keep a log and discuss with contractor. Thanks, thanks and thanks. Have a great one.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The South
    Posts
    2,240
    Keep us posted...

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Down by the river
    Posts
    1,689
    May have to much static pressure now with only a 14x14 return basically. Remove filter while running and see if you don't notice a differance.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    I will try that but I assume I will get even more CFM when I think I need less.
    Will let you know.
    Thanks

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    I pulled filter and got a slight reduction in noise at the AHU intake but not much other noticeable effect. Still have strong "winds" - noise at registers.
    Cycle time unaffected. Im really starting to think the whole system has to be replaced. Just swapping out compressor to 2 ton may create more problems than it solves.
    At a minimum sounds like Im getting too much air for ducts.
    I welcome all thoughts and comments.
    Thanks to all

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    18
    CORRECTION: ONLY OPTION IS TO SWAP COMPRESSOR OR SWAP BOTH COMPRESSOR AND AHU.
    I ORIGINALLY THOUGHT IT WAS POSSIBLE TO SWAP AHU ONLY BUT THERE IS NO AHRI REFERENCE NUMBER FOR THIS 2.5 TON COMPRESSOR TO BE MATCHED WITH A 2 TON FIXED SPEED AHU
    WITH THIS MFG. THANKS

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Down by the river
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by HPQ View Post
    I pulled filter and got a slight reduction in noise at the AHU intake but not much other noticeable effect. Still have strong "winds" - noise at registers.
    Cycle time unaffected. Im really starting to think the whole system has to be replaced. Just swapping out compressor to 2 ton may create more problems than it solves.
    At a minimum sounds like Im getting too much air for ducts.
    I welcome all thoughts and comments.
    Thanks to all
    My point with this and for example my own house. Second floor 1.5 ton in a closet on a pedestal box just like yours. At first I just had a 14x14 grill with a filter and that is all. The unit was a tornado of wind. I recently cut oout to 18x18 and now I can not even here it run.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event