Mold/Tool & Die guy looking for a break-China has destroyed my trade

I live in the northwest suburbs of Chicago and currently enrolled in HVAC courses at Harper College. Trying to break into HVAC. I have strong work ethics, troubleshooting, and mechanical skills. Thanks for any help. Ed W. cell#847-226-8380
    Last edited by erw848; 04-13-2007 at 12:21 AM.

Yea...I know what you feel man. I was in tool and die as a machinist and I seen it coming....it has become Tool and Dead.
    Got into commercial hvac, with a great company because i knew someone at the company.
    They said they would not hire anyone without a good 3 years....and sure as hell wouldnt have hired me.....not knowing anything. I didnt even know what panel to take off to get into the blower.
    I have been doing this for 8 months now, and I proved myself, without the schooling..but now am looking into going to start taking classes.
    Harper I hear is a great school to learn at. Really good classes with a lot of hands on. I want to go there myself, but cant find a way around the out of district rates....Have any Ideas?
    anyway...I think you made a good choice, and I would try and ask around here for leads to employment to get your foot in the door.

Harper's HVAC program is set up for working people. It is self paced w/dvds. The tution is what it is. I priced out other programs and even out of district rates of Harper is still less than other programs. I really like it.

If you have any leads that would be great. You could mention that I should have my EPA in May. RAC 101 is completed. I also have been buying tools to gear up for my career change.

Thanks again!
    Last edited by erw848; 04-13-2007 at 12:18 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by hudson73 View Post
    I want to go there myself, but cant find a way around the out of district rates....Have any Ideas?