Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: York piston

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29

    York piston

    The piston that comes with the york condenser. Is it necessary to install with the unit or is it only for certain occasions. Coil is matching.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,331
    Have to see what piston the coil came with.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Central WA
    Posts
    1,554
    Yes. Install the piston unless you are converting to an expansion valve.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,480
    Quote Originally Posted by cjpwalker View Post
    Yes. Install the piston unless you are converting to an expansion valve.
    X2, the coils come with no piston installed, it comes with the outdoor unit install instructions, don't forget to put the valve stem in the external equilizer tap or you'll have a leaker...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,226
    It's necessary if your intention is to meter the refrigerant.

    The coils usually come with a screw on fitting, make sure the appropriate piston is installed when you screw the fitting on, same on the air handlers. They also come with a schrader core, there's a tap inside the coil on the suction line for if you're installing a txv equalizer tube, if not you're supposed to loosen the fitting, install the schrader core and put a cap or the fitting back on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western, KY
    Posts
    3,226
    Quote Originally Posted by jtrammel View Post
    X2, the coils come with no piston installed, it comes with the outdoor unit install instructions, don't forget to put the valve stem in the external equilizer tap or you'll have a leaker...
    19 seconds too slow, knew I shouldn't have paused for a drink ; )!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29
    The condenser paper work will tell me if the piston is right or the coil paper work? btw these are just coils on furnaces. No air handlers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29
    Also, coils come with a piston.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,331
    Need to use the piston that the condenser needs. Piston in coil may or may not be the right size.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,367
    Use the piston (or flow rater) that came with condenser. FYI the nut you remove to swap piston is reverse threaded. At least they are on the older ones. I have not installed a new York in years.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event