Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 27
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,275
    Quote Originally Posted by garyed View Post
    Rheem/Ruud are the kings of capacitor replacement problems. Some of their units have the cap fit through a hole in the sheet metal. If the new one doesn't fit you've got to Rheem<g> out the hole until it does. Not so bad on condensers but in a hot attic its not fun when you've got to get a drill or tin snips to fit a cap in the hole. You can put it somewhere else but its still a job that shouldn't need to be done.
    Here's an example of what Rheem does with the caps.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,217
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    Here's an example of what Rheem does with the caps.
    That must be one of their cube units. I've only put a few in and the first thing I thought was I hope the cap fits when it's time to replace one. They did the same type thing with some of their blower motor capacitors.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,275
    Quote Originally Posted by garyed View Post
    That must be one of their cube units. I've only put a few in and the first thing I thought was I hope the cap fits when it's time to replace one. They did the same type thing with some of their blower motor capacitors.
    Yes, cube unit. I was thinking that they did this so the cap would get airflow and run cooler?

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McQueeney, Texas
    Posts
    3,860
    And if the hole is too big, you just lay it in there and hope for the best..

    Name:  leakincoil005_zps30203e17.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  55.1 KB

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Harrisburg, PA
    Posts
    292
    Quote Originally Posted by walterc View Post
    And if the hole is too big, you just lay it in there and hope for the best..

    Name:  leakincoil005_zps30203e17.jpg
Views: 91
Size:  55.1 KB
    Been there, done that!

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,412
    Quote Originally Posted by garyed View Post
    Rheem/Ruud are the kings of capacitor replacement problems. Some of their units have the cap fit through a hole in the sheet metal. If the new one doesn't fit you've got to Rheem<g> out the hole until it does. Not so bad on condensers but in a hot attic its not fun when you've got to get a drill or tin snips to fit a cap in the hole. You can put it somewhere else but its still a job that shouldn't need to be done.
    True. But R/R's are also the least likely to have a blown cap, in my experience. Only one in two years so far...

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,275
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    True. But R/R's are also the least likely to have a blown cap, in my experience. Only one in two years so far...
    Apparently the strategy of putting the cap in the air-stream for cooling really does work...

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Northern NV
    Posts
    155
    So you ask, why 370VAC?? Well, you have to think about peak voltage on an VAC sine wave. Divide the RMS voltage you see on your multimeter by 0.707 and this will give you the peak voltage the cap sees. The cap manufacturer publishes the break down voltage of the cap.

    So, why do they not use a higher voltage rating? Again, this was a cost issue for them. Buying millions of caps at a time saving a cent or two buys a lot of corporate beer! Now, does it make sense for us to carry all the voltage ranges? Nah! OUR cost difference is negligible if any and you can always use a higher voltage cap in place of a lower one, just keep in mind that it will be physically larger, hence some modification.

    If you want to see something interesting, check the voltage across a run cap at high speed. Magic...

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,217
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    Apparently the strategy of putting the cap in the air-stream for cooling really does work...
    It might work but I doubt that is the underlying reason for its placement. I'll bet it's mainly to save space and being in the air stream is an after thought. On their more expensive units (the rectangular ones) the cap is not in the air stream so it doesn't make engineering sense if that was their real concern.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,275
    Quote Originally Posted by garyed View Post
    It might work but I doubt that is the underlying reason for its placement. I'll bet it's mainly to save space and being in the air stream is an after thought. On their more expensive units (the rectangular ones) the cap is not in the air stream so it doesn't make engineering sense if that was their real concern.
    Makes sense. If cooling the cap was a priority they would find a way to have it cooled by ambient air instead of condenser heated air. Not sure if condenser heated air is any cooler than the inside of the electrical box anyways...

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,069
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    But how much does a warranty call cost them vs. paying a nickel more per capacitor? Guess it's a numbers game with manufacturers..
    Not nearly as much as they save.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,306
    It has to be cheaper for manufacture of caps to sale just 440 size. The manufacture cost to make a 440 got to be lost with seperate production line, separate package, sparate inventory and everything. Thats the reason why I don't bother stocking 370s.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    3,217
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    It has to be cheaper for manufacture of caps to sale just 440 size. The manufacture cost to make a 440 got to be lost with seperate production line, separate package, sparate inventory and everything. Thats the reason why I don't bother stocking 370s.
    It's not just the cost of production that counts, its the sellability of the item. If there's a demand for 370v caps and a demand for 440v caps then it might pay for the manufacturers to make different ones. For all we know they could be all made the same and just stamped different on the rating plate.
    Gary
    -----------
    http://www.oceanhvac.com
    An engineer designs what he would never work on.
    A technician works on what he would never design.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event