Thread: water source heat pumps tripping on high head

Post Likes

Angry water source heat pumps tripping on high head

Hi all
    I'm pretty new to the game. I need your help
    I have Carrier console water cource heat pumps that keep trip out on high head in AC. i'm not sure why. I have clean the filters, blown out the evap coil, recovered refrig pulled vac and recharged(in case there were any noncondensables in the system), checked water flow from both directions of the condenser. nothing is helping. Now I'm leaning towards either the water loop is air bound(there are no vents in the water loop) or the condenser heat exchanger is scaled up. Am I on the right track? I want to take temp readings of the supply and return water lines feeding the condenser. What temp differencial should I expect?
    Thanks in advance for your time and any help you can provide.

Post Likes
    Post a good log of pressures and temps on water and refrigerant side and I am confident someone here can help you solve it.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Ant2172 View Post
    Hi all
    I'm pretty new to the game. I need your help
    I have Carrier console water cource heat pumps that keep trip out on high head in AC. i'm not sure why. I have clean the filters, blown out the evap coil, recovered refrig pulled vac and recharged(in case there were any noncondensables in the system), checked water flow from both directions of the condenser. nothing is helping. Now I'm leaning towards either the water loop is air bound(there are no vents in the water loop) or the condenser heat exchanger is scaled up. Am I on the right track? I want to take temp readings of the supply and return water lines feeding the condenser. What temp differencial should I expect?
    Thanks in advance for your time and any help you can provide.
    Is the system new or old? Has it done this in the past or is it a new development?