Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Communicating amana not removing much humidity

Post Likes

Question Communicating amana not removing much humidity

I am an HVAC technician and I recently purchased a new home which was under construction. When I found the house, the heat pump and air handler were not installed but the duct work was completed. I asked the builder if I could install the heat pump and air handler myself if he would remove some of the price from the house he planned on paying for the equipment and installation. He agreed. I installed a 16 SEER 3 ton amana heat pump and air handler with communicating thermostat. I really like the thermostat and the communicating features it offers. Everything except the heat strip kW can be set on the thermostat. The problem I am having that is making me very upset with the system is it will not remove hardly any humidity from the air in my house. Here are all the things I've checked and done...

Turned the dehumidification feature "on" in the thermostat settings and lowered the humidity set point to 49%RH. Even when running more from a hot day the humidity only gets down to about 56%. On a mild day when it doesn't run much it can get up to 70%.

Verified that the humidity reading the thermostat shows is correct with a psychrometer.

Installed a vapor barrier in the crawl space.

Checked the Freon charge to make sure the system was not over or under charged.

Verified that the CFM the blower was running at was less than 1200CFM when system was running. Meaning it was lowering the fan speed to try and pull more humidity from the air. When it was in second stage cool it was running at 1000CFM and is first stage cooling I believe was 700 CFM.

When I check the condensate drain pan there is water in it, but not much. Even on a hot day I can go to the condensate drain line outside and put my finger in the drain and there is barely any water in the line.