Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 73
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108

    Compressor Cycling off.

    Hi,
    I'm new to the forum, and was wondering if someone could offer me some tips/suggestions. I recently just installed a new compressor to a split system. As I'm charging the system it shuts off after about 2 minutes, and kicks back on after about 5 minutes. Why is this happening?

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaiahV View Post
    Hi,
    I'm new to the forum, and was wondering if someone could offer me some tips/suggestions. I recently just installed a new compressor to a split system. As I'm charging the system it shuts off after about 2 minutes, and kicks back on after about 5 minutes. Why is this happening?
    Is the equipment equipped with a low or high pressure switch? You could have put in too much refrigerant and it's cycling on the high pressure safety. Are there non condensables in the system (Some forget to release and evacuate the nitrogen charge after leak test)? Are the air handler and condenser fans running? This info is all important. The compressor could be cycling on internal overload too so could it be running too hot?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    I believe its cycling on internal overload, but i'm not sure why. The system needs about 5lbs 15oz. I have weighed in about 4lbs and 8ounces in so far. Definitely no nitrogen in the system, I ran a vacuum on the system for about 2 hours, and am putting in clean freon, not the original freon. All fans are also running.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaiahV View Post
    I believe its cycling on internal overload, but i'm not sure why. The system needs about 5lbs 15oz. I have weighed in about 4lbs and 8ounces in so far. Definitely no nitrogen in the system, I ran a vacuum on the system for about 2 hours, and am putting in clean freon, not the original freon. All fans are also running.
    What are the clearances of the unit, it needs to be so many inches away from the walls and obstructions and prevailing winds could affect head pressure too. Bad placement could have caused the initial compressor failure. Also, measure your voltage And amperage at the contactor, voltage should be within 5% of nameplate, Low voltage causes higher amperage And nuisance trips oF the Overload and possibly breaker.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    565
    Did you replace the capacitor or check the old one?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    What are your pressures when compressor/unit cuts off?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    1,347
    Did you replace liquid line drier? Does this unit have a txv?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    This Unit is at an apartment complex that has 9 other heatpumps setup the exact same way. Its about 2 feet away from the wall, and about 85 degrees outside no wind.
    Originally when I came out to this unit. I had a blown fuse. I replaced fuse, then realized I still wasn't getting power to the system. So I checked breaker, and realized I had a bad breaker. I replaced breaker and then the system started working. About 10 minutes of running I heard a leak. The leak was coming from the compressor where the wires were connected. I assumed the fuse and breaker had gone bad due to the compressor going bad. So I did a complete compressor change out. During the charge of the new compressor, the compressor cuts off after only 2 minutes of running.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by jvillehvac View Post
    Did you replace the capacitor or check the old one?
    The old one still has the correct MFD
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    Did you replace liquid line drier? Does this unit have a txv?
    Yes liquid line drier was replaced, and yes this unit has a txv.

    Thank you for all the replies!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by socotech View Post
    Did you replace liquid line drier? Does this unit have a txv?
    Oh yes you can't forget this one! Restrictions Of any sort can cause high head pressure or compressor overheating.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    My head pressure is at 185psi when the compressor kicks on, but the compressor kicks off after only 2 minutes or less.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    108
    The system needs about 5lbs 15oz. of R22. I have weighed in about 4lbs and 8ounces of R421 in so far.

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by IsaiahV View Post
    The system needs about 5lbs 15oz. of R22. I have weighed in about 4lbs and 8ounces of R421 in so far.
    You're using A different gas? O,,o

    My fault..it's an r22 replacement

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event