Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

I witnessed the unthinkable (epa violation)

I am a brand new trainee fresh out of school at my first job in refrigeration and hvac (hooray), and i get excited when i am sent out on a random residential/light commercial install job (normally i am at a construction site installing a walk in box). Anyhow....we arrive there. We got a dry shipped 13 Seer 5 Ton carrier condenser and virgin r22. This is supposed to be simple, old condenser is dead and 30 years old, should be easy, right?

Wrong.

the guy I'm with hooks his gauges up to the service valves Of The existing unit and there is a charge of gas in there...

"Do you have a Recovery machine and recovery cylinder?" I Ask him

"Nope" The moron said, "here's an old school trick"....

I Hold an epa universal and this dumb dumb only holds a can of skoal and his iPhone.."You better not vent that, the fine is over 37000$ if you get caught"...he doesn't care and gets ready to vent refrigerant...i walk away and couldn't even bear to watch such unspeakable horror...he finished the swap as if nothing happened. I don't know what to do about this, I can't see this happen again because i feel like I'll get in trouble as well Even though i Did no wrong, any advice appreciated. Pardon the random capital letters, typing on a Phone is hard. Also, putting a 13 Seer condenser with an old (30 year old?) indoor coil means zero energy benefit for the customer, last time i Heard.

Talk to your boss about it. You may find out it is the norm throughout the company. It is sad to say, but I have seen companies like that before.