Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041

    AK900 battery probs

    My Digicool AK900s have started eating batteries. I've had them about 4 months. The battery that came in them lasted about 3 1/2 months, I changed it out with a regular Duracell 9v and it lasted about a week and I probably used it a total of 2 hours on. I changed it Monday and used it once yesterday for about 30 minutes and went to use them this morning and the battery is dead AGAIN! I tested battery and it reads 5volts so its definitely eating the batteries in the off cycle for some reason. I'm gonna try some expensive 9v now but if anyone (Doug) has any ideas of whats going on I'd be happy to hear it. Happy Independence Day, if we can still call it that, everyone.
    Heating/Cooling Services Inc.
    www.andersonhvacservice.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,048
    Someone else just had this problem and Doug said it was probably one of the transducers. He offered to take them in and fix it himself or ship you the transducers.

    Also mentioned to disconnect one of the two and see if you can pinpoint the one draining the batty.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    Thanks, when I had it apart it seems like the plugs for transducers on the board don't seat onto the board very securely, it'd be nice if thaey clicked in it something like most molex plugs do.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,074
    Moved to HVAC Tools and Test Equipment.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    Thanks BT.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538
    Doug addressed this issue in another thread.
    See post #407 in the link below.
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread....-gauges/page32

    Good luck.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    Thanks ac/don

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    just talked to TTT and DigiCool, high side pressure transducer on the way. Thanks for the help and thanks to TTT and DigiCool for standing behind their products.
    Heating/Cooling Services Inc.
    www.andersonhvacservice.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    Got my repaired ak900 back today. Ended up being the circuit board.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,048
    So you put the transducer in but it didn't help?where did you send it for repairs?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    7,041
    No, I tried unplugging one transducer at a time and the first one I unplugged made the battery last 48is hrs (vs 3 hrs with both) so I thought it was the transducer. I put another battery in and unplugged both transducers and it still died so I sent it to Doug Lockhart in Canada on July 22 and if it weren't for shipping time i would have had it back in no time. Doug said he changed the board and all is well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event