Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Carrier 58MVP Blower motor Lockout Code 44

I had a Carrier 58mvp installed about 6 years ago. It has worked flawlessly up until now.

Code 44 set (Blower motor lockout) Tried putting the unit in fan only mode. Still sets code 44. The blower turns freely but does not attempt to start.

Tech came out and said I have a bad blower motor. I watched him check the blower then after he left I got the troubleshooting guide out. He did not follow the procedure outlined in the book.

I realize that he probably knows some short cuts but I would like to satisfy myself that it is the whole blower unit and not the control module on the blower motor. I have read the procedure and intend to do the checks by the book, (as I have no experience except what I read). He did not do any checks involving the windings etc. He just checked to see if there was power to the motor.

Question for people who have worked on these units: How many of you have seen the blower motor bad vs. the blower control module (located somewhere on the blower motor unit I think)

I will probably do the checks by the book tomorrow, but I am curious if this happens often with these variable speed units.

Thanks in advance.

Did he have a tool that plugged into the motor to check it out(example techmate)
    If there is power to the motor usually it is the control module on the top of the motor. The whole motor usually does not need to be replaced.

I would trust the technician.
    If the motor he puts in doesnt fix it, pay him for what does.

Unless you have the right tools and the know how, it is better to leave it to the professionals so you don't get hurt
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes...that way you are a mile from them and have their shoes