Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16

    Carrier Flotronic

    Any Suggestions On A 66 Code ? Weve Replaced The Sensors In Comp. And In Bundle , Replaced Exv , And Replaced Dryer . Charge Seems To Be Ok . It Only Happens When You Walk Away From It . The Code Is " High Super Heat " When Chiller Is Reset Unit Runs Fine . Any Ideas ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    240
    Have you checked pulsing signal to EXV? Do you have an EXV driver board? Have you checked the wire harness to EXV?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16
    Havent Checked It In Great Detail But Will Check Tomorrow.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    on those systems always weigh your charge you stated charge seems to be ok i would recover and weigh back in

    do you have 1 or 2 exv's i have replaced a few exv's due to super slow operation, the stepper motor

    works fine but the valve and piston assembly gets cruddy inside, take it apart and look at it

    and/or determine how long it takes to open up, because they close on each cycle (pumpdown)!

    we are talkin carrier gt chillers right?

    check all sensor by ohm temp chart

    i also have replaced some drivers for the exv's also

    dont bother bringin carrier out there to hook there computer up they get tons of data but never figure out the problem!



    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16
    This unit has 2 exv's we have replaced the valve on the circut giving us the problem , but no luck.This is a carrier gt chiller . Replaced drivers? Do you mean the board or the exv motor? Wow we get the same response from carrier here in florida! I have them scratching around trying to figure A TO51 trouble code on a chiller with the scrolling marques. We have exhausted ourselves on that also.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,986
    Isn't TO51 high discharge temp? On the older chillers 51 and 52 were high discharge temp if memory serves me correctly. The fix was to jump out the High Temp sensor in the head. It gave false trips in the circuit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    16
    I did not mean to confuse any one but the T051 is on a newer chiller different location. It could be high press trip , that damn 2.5 amps to ground or I think one other safty. We put carriers "fix" on the unit it was suppose to bypass "weak" control relays we upgraded the software It did not work .I am now waiting for a visit from a factory engineer , I hope he can help .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    78
    I installed both the relay kit and I bypassed the discharge sensor on the head and the problem went away.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    66

    Three possibilities remaining:

    I have had my challenges with Carrier flowtronics and in my opinion, you have three possibities: the refrigerant charge, the expansion valve driver board and power cord, and as a last resort, the microprocessor board.

    As already stated very wisely, (1) you should always weigh the refer charge. (2) Ohm out the expansion valve cord and motor (25 olms ?), use voltage to check the thermisters (Ohms has been considered unreliable, but I use both), and as a last resort, replace the microprocessor board, but they usually give a code 55.

    I had a similar problem (I have 6 flowtronics) and couldn't find anything wrong, so as a last resort, I replaces the microprocessor baod and the problem was resolved.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event