Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Refrigeration Q: for rookie

Hey guys.........I've been working on A/C's for a couple years now but have never touched a fridge or cooler, etc. I hear that refrigeration is a lot harder to learn and more complex.............Can anyone tell me what the main differences are between refrigeration and air conditioning?

controls..........

and a very sensative product. people don't go bad, food does.

I also have just started doing some refridgeration after a few years of A/C
    #1 Rule its never the charge.
    but when it is,
    I have found is that the charge is not as forgiving
    There is no short cutting it you better have a long, deep vacum and a accurate scale or you wont be doing refridgeration for long.
    I remember my first day,It was fun!

I'll put it how someone put it to me some time ago...

"It either is or it isn't" That's refrigeration in a nutshell. If a box's temp needs to be 33-40, 32 isn't going to work, and neither will 41

1) Charges are critical. Sometimes a half ounce can make a lot of difference.

2) Delfield sucks. If you see something with a Delfield logo on it, condemn it and write it up for replacement.

3) Controls are usually the same voltage as the equipment they are controlling.

4) A proper evacuation is everything. On small systems I usually 3x evacuate to 500m. Overkill? maybe, but I've never had problems with ice in expansion valves, noncondensibles, etc etc

5) Learn how a potential relay works.

6) Get 1-800 numbers for manufacturer support, and know who/where your local parts distributors are and whose parts they stock. Always try to go with an OEM, but if you can't, call the manufacturer and see if they can recommend or endorse any particular non-OEM parts.
    "There is no greater inequality than the equal treatment of unequals."

-Thomas Jefferson