Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 45
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,585
    Post Likes
    Name:  0624132142.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  47.3 KB

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,585
    Post Likes
    Name:  0624132155.jpg
Views: 116
Size:  40.9 KB

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    5,155
    Post Likes
    True GDM-7

    Has a Tecumseh AE530AT-726-A4 1/5hp

    Specifies Cap Tube as 10' of 0.042id

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,585
    Post Likes
    well alrighty then , cool thanks

    where do these little gems like to leak ?

    im adding shraders in the morning , a drier with port because Poodle will yell if I dont , and then pressurizing

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    5,252
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Snapperhead View Post
    where do these little gems like to leak ?
    It's a True. They either leak in the evap u-tubes or accumulator.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,892
    Post Likes
    I think that filter-drier is the original. The bad brazing job is typical of True.

    For a replacement drier I prefer the Sporlan C032-CAP-T.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Posts
    490
    Post Likes
    If that calls for a 10' cap tube, where is the rest of it rolled up? That cap tube in the pic does not look factory but the dryer does.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    14,835
    Post Likes
    Here's what I would do -

    OPTION 1
    The compressor runs
    The condenser fan runs
    The evap fan runs
    So first hose the whole thing out, especially the cond coil, with a garden hose so you're not working on some yakked up pos.
    Let it dry
    Then remove the drier
    Make sure nitrogen pressure comes through the cap tube
    Silphos a access valve onto the compressor's stub
    Replace the drier with one with an access valve on it.
    Pressurize to 150 with nitrogen. Leave overnight.
    If the pressure falls by morning - find the leak(s)
    If you can't find the leaks - evac, add some dye, and charge to ambient plus 30º
    Let it run for a few days and then look for dye traces

    OPTION 2

    Give it to the scrap man and get back to work

    PHM
    -------






    Quote Originally Posted by Snapperhead View Post
    like 3 foot tall , glass door , 134 10 oz

    customer had me take a peek while fixing a deli case

    No access ports ofcourse and i didnt have any pierce valves

    Cond had a small blanket of fur , cleaned that off

    Feeling around , the line line off compressor is kinda hot going to cond, and the compressor shell kinda hot as well , but the tube bends on the cond are ambient at top and bottom.

    drier has been replaced before judging by the aweful braze job , and its slightly cooler than ambient to touch

    all fans working fine

    I guess its time for another drier and cut out few inches of cap tube ?
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,585
    Post Likes
    i didnt leave nitro in all night because i have missplaced my gauge i use for testing

    Both coils clean

    replaced drier with one i had on truck forever 032 ( no port ) added shrader to the stub on shell , cut 6 inches of cap just incase ...

    added 7 oz and low side was at 5 , so i gave a squirt more and jumped to 20 , then settled out and its hanging around 12 psi

    amping 3.8 (RLA 4.4 on label )

    pulled down to temp within 15 min , sweet

    its 88 outside and humid on the porch , discharge line is 160 deg , drier filter 115 deg , box 29 degrees inside when it shuts off , then comes on at 48 degrees

    the knob was on 1

    moved knob to 5

    shut off at 27 deg , on at 48

    moved knob to 4

    shuts off at 29.7 , on at 48

    Need a new stat ?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    swan valley idaho
    Posts
    737
    Post Likes
    you can adjust a little if its a ranco. otherwise get a a12-1506 for 38 cut in, or a12-701 for 41 cut in

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,018
    Post Likes
    deleted
    "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten". --Benjamin Franklin
    "Don't argue with an idiot, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". --Mark Twain
    http://www.campbellmechanical.com

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Lehigh Valley, PA
    Posts
    490
    Post Likes
    Why didn't you charge 10ozs.? 12 psi with 134 is too low. I think you will be starving the evap with a heat load in the box.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,983
    Post Likes
    Do you have anything in the cooler? If there's no product inside the temp will swing all over the place

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards