SC57 and magnets - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 32
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    south jersey
    Posts
    1,096
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Wonder if you could just fix some Mu Metal as a shied on the back of the case.
    I like the meters I have with the magnets built in vs a strap.
    Hey Ice, What is Mu Metal?
    You need to put the phone down and get back to work!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,474
    Quote Originally Posted by jnsrose View Post
    Hey Ice, What is Mu Metal?
    Ever see Terminator 2
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,460
    I use one of those magnetic straps from a fluke. i just keep it in the ampclamp jaws. it works for me.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,980
    These magnets suc and the E6000 doesn't seem to want to hold. For now though it works.Name:  sc57 001.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  36.2 KBName:  sc57 002.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  42.8 KBName:  sc57 003.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  30.9 KB

    Quote Originally Posted by jnsrose View Post
    Doesn't the sc57 have a swivel camp? Thinking about doing something like that for my meter. Pics when your done please.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Westminster, Colorado
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by hearthman View Post
    placing magnets right against a DMM can mess up readings. If the mfr. does not make a magnetic strap
    Magnets can certainly interfere with the meter. How much or how easily the magnets can interfere really depends on the individual meter.
    If you go with a magnetic strap, as opposed to gluing magnets to the meter, you can use the battery as a makeshift shield when you are not using the magnets. This is mainly when you are using the clamp for amp readings. You just have to make your strap is long enough and in the right place so the magnets hang down around the battery compartment. Another benefit is that the magnets will usually draw to the battery and that keeps them out of the way a little bit.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    880
    ummm.... why not just attach a good magnet to a nylon strap with a loop at the end then pass the clamp through it........

    Or buy one from Orlandos random crap surplus store.

    http://www.skycraftsurplus.com/magneticstrapholder.aspx

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,474
    An exposed conductive magnet swinging off a meter around control panels could be dangerous.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    880
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    An exposed conductive magnet swinging off a meter around control panels could be dangerous.
    yeah thats why I like a removable one that you just hook the meter to when needed.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,980
    All good thoughts, I don't think a magnet will hurt the meter if it is placed up high toward the clamp. I know a good way to find out for sure. Yep, I am gona glue the magnets right to the case. Then we will see what we will see. I have faith in the meter. Stay tuned for the next episode .

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    880
    Quote Originally Posted by lytning View Post
    All good thoughts, I don't think a magnet will hurt the meter if it is placed up high toward the clamp. I know a good way to find out for sure. Yep, I am gona glue the magnets right to the case. Then we will see what we will see. I have faith in the meter. Stay tuned for the next episode .

    I wonder what that will do to the wireless functionality of the meter......

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,980
    That my friend is what we are going to find out. Probably nothing for a while, but we will see.

    Quote Originally Posted by Elfshadow View Post
    I wonder what that will do to the wireless functionality of the meter......

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,980
    Ok magnets on meter.Name:  sc57 and MAX 005.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  22.7 KBName:  sc57 and MAX 006.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  20.4 KBName:  sc57 and MAX 007.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  42.9 KBName:  sc57 and MAX 008.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  61.7 KB

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,474
    FWIW I took the magnetic battery door off the UEi and moved it up by the clamp and the clamp connection and the current reading bounced all over the place.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event