Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Any comments about all climate heat pumps?

This company is touting a new type of air source heat pump called a all climate heat pump:

http://www.gotohallowell.com/

Anyone have any comments?
    Thanks,

Mark

RE: All Climate Heat Pump

Mark,

I am a contractor who became a believer in this design, resulting in my start up of a distribution company to carry the product in the Western US. It really does what they claim. I encourage you to visit our website for more details, at:

www.uswesco.com

You are also welcome to contact me with any questions or comments you may have regarding the ACHP system.

Yours truly,

USWESCO, Inc.

Malachi J Salcido, CPA
    President
    Last edited by USWESCO; 09-04-2007 at 11:10 AM. Reason: sp

I hope I don't hurt anybody's feelings, I'm not a firm believer in heat pumps for heating.
    I'm sure that the claims they make are valid (e.g. COP 2.8). This makes that for every KWh you're using and have to pay for, you get 2.8 KWh heat.

There is a comparison on the All Climate's [AC] websitehttp://www.gotohallowell.com/index.p...d=22&Itemid=43)
    and of course, the heat pump is the absolute winner.

You have to do your own math. AC apparently uses an example that needs 100,000,000 BTU per season.

AC uses $0.10 per KWh. If you pay more or less, the heating cost will proportionally go up or down. E.g. if you pay $0.12 per kWH, they yearly cost will be $1,046 * 0.12 / 0.10 = $1,255

Of course, heating with electric heaters is crazy.

My house is heated with natural gas. At $12.5 per MCF (thousand cu. ft. / 1,000,000 BTU), this would take 100 MCF/0.95 = 105 MCF and cost $1,312.
    (with 95% efficiency burner)

About the same as the heat pump.

Propane will turn out to be about 70% more expensive than natural gas.
    No 2 Heating Oil is 30% more expensive than natural gas.