Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 88
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Maple Grove, MN
    Posts
    1,299
    Quote Originally Posted by kklobas View Post
    unfortunately no contractor . could it wire in series with lp control
    No, this thing is only able to handle 1.5 amps. You would have to add a compressor contactor or some other type of relay to get that time delay relay to work.

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,568
    40º and 19º I hope?

    Because 40 lbs. is 45º which is too high.

    Although 19 lbs. or degrees is probably OK.

    PHM
    -------



    Quote Originally Posted by kklobas View Post
    ok- set control at 19 cut out, 40 cut in. I'll give that a shot overnight and see if it's enough to keep this ol betsy running a few more months. thanks for all the input.
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    134A is a terrible refrigerant ..... i got rid of it years ago and all is well.. ....
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    3,342
    Hey who knows how many non condensables might be in the system or how wacked the control is. The only thing we know is that he needs more spread .

    Quote Originally Posted by Poodle Head Mikey View Post
    40º and 19º I hope?

    Because 40 lbs. is 45º which is too high.

    Although 19 lbs. or degrees is probably OK.

    PHM
    -------

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,568
    What made you get rid of 134?

    PHM
    ------




    Quote Originally Posted by carmon View Post
    134A is a terrible refrigerant ..... i got rid of it years ago and all is well.. ....
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,181
    its terrible with cap tube systems when the cond coil gets filthy ..... fo sho

    in cars , great idea tho , nice and chilly and lasts long time with txv

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,568
    But isn't that the required POE oil causing the cap tube plugging after condenser clogging - and not the actual refrigerant?

    An any cap tube replacement I do now I always add a manual reset HP control now - but I thought it was the oil coming apart; not the refrigerant.

    So which is it really?

    PHM
    -------



    Quote Originally Posted by Snapperhead View Post
    its terrible with cap tube systems when the cond coil gets filthy ..... fo sho

    in cars , great idea tho , nice and chilly and lasts long time with txv
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    swan valley idaho
    Posts
    727
    Did a true freezer today with 404a totally plugged solid dryer. Cap still ok.
    Condenser coil was very very dirty. So ya 404a plugs up also

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    218
    Quote Originally Posted by kklobas View Post
    Did a true freezer today with 404a totally plugged solid dryer. Cap still ok.
    Condenser coil was very very dirty. So ya 404a plugs up also
    Because its the oil, not the refrigerant causing the plugged up driers and cap tubes. It's also happening at a temperature that would have caused MO or ABO to completely break down and seize a compressor, iirc.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    3,181
    Quote Originally Posted by Poodle Head Mikey View Post
    But isn't that the required POE oil causing the cap tube plugging after condenser clogging - and not the actual refrigerant?

    An any cap tube replacement I do now I always add a manual reset HP control now - but I thought it was the oil coming apart; not the refrigerant.

    So which is it really?

    PHM
    -------
    i dont know why , but dont you see alot more cap tubes clogged with 134 than 404 ?

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold.calm
    Posts
    5,701
    Quote Originally Posted by Snapperhead View Post
    i dont know why , but dont you see alot more cap tubes clogged with 134 than 404 ?
    I don't see a lot of 404a cap tube systems!

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    73
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...X8Ke61d4XoptCQ
    I would replace with 416a. It works on all oils andjalf the cost of 409

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    12,568

    I see your 416 And your 409 - and Raise you a 417!

    R-416 is: $409. for 25 lbs.

    R-414 is: $446.

    But R-417 is $290.

    Call? <g>

    PHM
    ------


    Quote Originally Posted by MontanaJon View Post
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sourc...X8Ke61d4XoptCQ
    I would replace with 416a. It works on all oils andjalf the cost of 409
    PHM
    --------
    The conventional view serves to protect us from the painful job of thinking.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event