Fieldpiece sman 3 clamps
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 45
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,406

    Fieldpiece sman 3 clamps

    Ok anyone using a different make on their Sman. My 4th and last clamp broke yesterday. Attached to a 3/4 suction line. Went in house and came out to find it in 2 pieces.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    763
    Quote Originally Posted by ptemko View Post
    Ok anyone using a different make on their Sman. My 4th and last clamp broke yesterday. Attached to a 3/4 suction line. Went in house and came out to find it in 2 pieces.
    Ptemko,

    We had a bad batch of plastic two years ago now that had this problem. We've literally haven't received any back with this problem since we discovered the bad plastic and fixed the problem. Send me your address and i'll send you two at no charge.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,406
    Thanks Russell. That is great customer service.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hammond,La.
    Posts
    1,176
    Quote Originally Posted by ptemko View Post
    Thanks Russell. That is great customer service.
    Doesn't get any better. Hard to find a company that stands behind their product much less one that monitors web forums and tracks down people having issues to solve! I don't even look for any other brand to buy anymore.
    "I am for doing good to the poor, but I differ in opinion of the means. I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it."
    Benjamin Franklin, 1766

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Griffin, Georgia
    Posts
    551
    I use the same clamp with my Fluke 16 and it has a loose connection in the plug somewhere. Less than 6 months old. Still better than the Fluke pipe clamp though.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Arnold, Mo
    Posts
    388
    Quote Originally Posted by Rcb2875 View Post
    Doesn't get any better. Hard to find a company that stands behind their product much less one that monitors web forums and tracks down people having issues to solve! I don't even look for any other brand to buy anymore.
    Ditto. The guys here from Fieldpiece are the best!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SouthEast Texas Gulf
    Posts
    15

    Fieldpiece Clamps

    I had one "explode" in my hand a week ago. After looking at the other clamp I discovered it was actually broken on one side also at the rivet hole. I called Fieldpiece and was told they were shipping me out two new ones. Today the other clamp "exploded" in a similar manner. Problem is now I have no clamps because I have not yet received the replacements; taping on a bead is such a pain. I have a Fluke 80PK8 clamp but I fear I'll damage it using it with my gauges because at $150+ I have always handled it with extreme care and use it only for precision measurements when required. I'm thinking about buying a couple of those Craftsman $30 (82380) clamps to try out if these new Fieldpiece clamps break.
    I'm told Fieldpiece has corrected the problem with the plastic, which seems brittle and the spring seems way too strong! Now if only they would fix the problem with the wire breaking at the plug caused by allowing the wires to sag when you clip them on the "ears". A right angle plug would be nice, or even a K type right angle adapter to allow the wire to hang straight down rather than bend. Still love the Fieldpiece gauges. I had Refco Digimons, replaced 3 times due to problems before warranty ran out. Then I got Testo 550s, replaced 2 times under warranty before warranty ran out. This time of year in Texas on Gulf Coast I'm hooking up to 5,6,7,8 or more systems a day and it's hard on stuff.

  8. #8
    I've had my SMAN3's for a little over a year and have had the same exact problems with clamps. Now I've gone through both clamps and trying to tape them on is not only getting old but now just not efficient. Love the product but didn't think I would have gone through the clamps that quick.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3,824
    Why doesn't someone use a stamped aluminum clamp. I had testo 550, 1250 (broke wire) getting kinda old ***king with these clamps.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    763
    We did have a bad batch of plastic go through about a year and a half ago. We figured out it was and how to test for it and haven't had new ones returned for crack issues. We did our best to get them out of the field but many slipped through. I can send Clamps out to anyone with issues. PM me with your address and how many you need.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Bozeman, MT
    Posts
    16
    I was skeptical when I first forked out the money for my sman3, after some minor problems and feildpiece sending me the replacement parts they seem to be fine so i bought another set and got rid of my old brand x set once and for all.And the company is really responsive with problems,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Charleston, Wv.
    Posts
    1,428
    Oh me me...can I have a set too!!?? just kidding, I guess I got lucky, bought mine around that time, and haven't had any problems (fingers crossed).....got one large and one small.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    446
    I had two sets of clamps break on me. One was a year or so ago. And one last week.
    Just inferior product / poor design on the clamp for the price they are sold for IMO

    but love all the other fieldpiece products i own a sc77 meter 5 years old and not a lick of trouble, sdp2, hg3, and my FP manometer ,

    the clamps are the only reason i have not bit the bullet on the sman4s. but i would love to be able to sync it to my hg3.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event