Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 54
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32

    Question Infinity control questions

    Hi I am dkirkey28 and I am new to this site.

    We have purchased a Carrier Infinity system.
    The furnace is a 96 model-58mvb100-120 (variable speed )
    [b]ran for years with a programable batery back up thermostat
    This year we had installed a infinity48,000 btu model 24anb748
    With n coil-cnpu481 and a infinity-systxccuid01-v/with software131502-2c

    I have some simple questions:
    1-because there is no battery-- if the thermostat is programed- min (60 deg.)-On hold-
    We go of on vacation for two weeks. Its winter and the outside temp.
    Dropes to 5 below ( and power -ac)-is lost due to a storm for 5 days

    When the power comes back on - ac to the house-what will the thermostat run the
    The heat at.?

    2-the air conditioner is two stage-- how many btu's is there when stage 1 is running ?
    --HOW MANY BTU'S IS THERE WHEN STAGE 2 IS RUNNING
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:01 PM. Reason: Removed all caps

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32
    omg didn't know i hit the holy graille - seemed like a good question..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32
    Having a very hard time getting any information from carrier. Carrier doesn't seem to have data sheets on this
    Information. Did find out the compressor is a -two speed scroll compressor- there still has to be a low limit and a high limit. Anyone seen carrier definition of (carrier scroll). It is interesting on how fast carrier is to install and take your money--but very slow getting answers. I would thin carrier would be proud of there product. There pdf data sheets dance around the information.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:02 PM. Reason: Removed all caps

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    Turn OFF the caps lock

    were blind not deaf!!
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32

    Lightbulb DKIRKEY28

    Quote Originally Posted by dandyme View Post
    Turn OFF the caps lock

    were blind not deaf!!
    Iam surprised you as moore interested in my hand-d-cap then answering any of the questions.
    I write in caps due to my hand-d-cap my eyes are bad and it is easier to see. Iam not shouting. With over 65views it appears there is a problem getting answers to simple questions.
    Again iam not shouting. (that and idea ),would shout if i thought
    That it could get carrier to answer the question.
    Please be more concern to your hand-d-cap fellow man/woman
    Dkirkey28
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:03 PM. Reason: Removed all caps

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32
    Having a very hard time getting any information from carrier. Carrier doesn't seem to have data sheets on this
    Information. Did find out the compressor is a -two speed scroll compressor- there still has to be a low limit and a high limit. Anyone seen carrier definition of (carrier scroll). It is interesting on how fast carrier is to install and take your money--but very slow getting answers. I would think carrier would be proud of there product. There pdf data sheets dance around the information.
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:04 PM. Reason: Fixed all caps

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,319
    Next time you get a stretch of mild weather and you don't need the system, set the Tstat at whatever you wish. Then go to the furnace and turn the switch/disconnect off. This will in effect be the same thing as a power outage as far as the Tstat is concerned. The see what happens when you flip the switch back on.

    I have no idea concerning your other question, but I'm certain Carrier has nothing to hide and knows the answer quite well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    103
    I have not had that much experience with Carrier, but lately have found their service department much more forthcoming than any other. Most other product out there are really hard to find parts break down and list. Johnson controls told me their Mcquay unit did not have a safety, as I was looking right at it. I am sure some of the Carrier guys on here will chime in here soon to aswer your questions it might just take a while do to most of these company keep a tight rain on such info for survival reasons. They don't want any Tom, Dick or Harry playing tech on their equipment.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32
    Thank you hurtinhvac for the suggestion.
    Good idea. Will be doing that when the weather is stable. This is a weird year in ill. Right now our high low returns and hum is set for summer.-- Yea -- heat been on sever times.
    Yep i agree carrier would know- i would think that would want us to know.-- There being a stinker.
    You know it is sad that you have to preform your own experiment to get a common question answered.
    Its a interesting statement abmth3 made (survival reasons)
    Dkirkey28

    Thank youabrnth3

    I hope so.
    Something must be going on at carrier-- the drums are very quiet..

    Dkirkey28
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:06 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Savannah, Ga/H.H. Island, S.C.
    Posts
    1,447

    Dkirkey28

    Hello,

    You're asking a question on the weekends. Most of the pros on this site use it mon-fri so the response rate drops off on the weekend. Be patient.


    Your thermostat will keep the programming with a power outage.

    What's the model number of your outdoor unit? When your provide this info I can give you exact numbers of 1st stage output and 2nd stage BTU output. Most Carrier 2 stage units are approx. 75% on first stage and the added 25% in 2nd stage. It's not a true 50/50 split. The only two stage system that true 50/50 is the Trane XL20i. Of course, Carrier does offer the inverter compressor which is fully modulating.

    This is all relative to your duct system and system design. A poor improper duct system and improper system setup can cause severely decreased BTU output.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    32
    Thank you mr brent rigley
    My originally question was in feb.2013 my second post here was 6-4 2013
    This is my system:
    We have purchased a carrier infinity system.
    The furnace is a 96 model-58mvb100-120 (variable speed )
    [b]ran for years with a programable batery back up thermostat
    This year we had installed a infinity48,000 btu model 24anb748
    With n coil-cnpu481 and a infinity-systxccuid01-v/with software131502-2c

    I have some simple questions:
    1-because there is no battery-- if the thermostat is programed- min (60 deg.)-On hold-
    We go of on vacation for two weeks. Its winter and the outside temp.
    Dropes to 5 below ( and power -ac)-is lost due to a storm for 5 days

    When the power comes back on - ac to the house-what will the thermostat run the
    The heat at.?

    2-the air conditioner is two stage-- how many btu's is there when stage 1 is running ?
    --how many btu's is there when stage 2 is running.
    Do you need more model/sn #

    Yes the thermostat will keep the program with a power outage- the question is (if the outage last 7 days
    Will it still keep it ?- I know the clock will be off.
    As and engineer i am aware the duct wurk will change the btu. Lets talk theorical- (no duct) what is stage 1 and what is stage two btu's? - no static pressure-
    Ps great pix
    Last edited by beenthere; 06-09-2013 at 07:07 PM. Reason: caps

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,872
    Moved to AOP Residential forum. Where only Pro * Members are allowed to respond to the OP.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Savannah, Ga/H.H. Island, S.C.
    Posts
    1,447
    Yes. I need the outdoor condenser model number to give you exact A/C output numbers.

    Tip: If you post in the correct section with an appropriate title that will facilitate more valid responses.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event